Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bibliographies and Guides to Historical Literature
American Popular Culture: A Guide to the Reference Literature by
Call Number: E169.1H64 [E-BOOK]
Publication Date: 1994-12-15
Bibliographic guide to reference materials and other sources of information on popular culture in the U.S. Along with the topical chapters, there are also chapters on special research collections, societies and associations dedicated to popular culture, and important journals in the field.
Black Music in America: A Bibliography by
Call Number: ML128.B45S6
Publication Date: 1981-04-01
Bibliographic guide to the music of Black America goes far beyond rock music, but will be useful for explorations in related genres including blues, jazz, and rhythm'n'blues.
The Columbia Guide to African American History Since 1939 by
Call Number: E185.6.C715 [E-BOOK]
Publication Date: 2006-07-22
This guide covers the period just prior to WWII through the present. Eight essays cover various topics from music and the arts to military and business and a section of A-Z encyclopedic entries of important African American personalities, organizations, and events is included. There is also an extensive bibliographical resource guide that lists broad topics such as 'Affirmative Action,' which are stratified into narrower subtopics and various categories of resources. The guide offers concise geographical listings of major libraries, museums, and historical places, as well as a list of African American newspapers and Web sites for further research. There is also a well-constructed index for easy lookup of topics. [Choice]
The Columbia Guide to America in The 1960s by
Call Number: E841.C575
Publication Date: 2001-05-29
Excellent one-volume guide is a practical tool for research on a wide variety of topics in the history of the 1960s. The guide provides a concise narrative overview of the era; a section on the major historiographic debates; a glossary of key figures, events and movements; a section of essays on broader cultural and institutional subjects; a brief chronology; and an annotated bibliography, organized by topic.
The Columbia Guide to the Cold War by
Call Number: REF E744.K696
Publication Date: 1998-11-25
This volume provides a basic survey of the historiography (12 p.) and major events (80 p.) of the Cold War, 1945-90, interspersed with brief discussions of common questions, from how effectively Roosevelt negotiated at Yalta to what led to the end of the Cold War. The somewhat fewer than 90 brief encyclopedia-like articles include basic (mostly U.S.) names and concepts, but omit many found in typical general encyclopedias (e.g., Zhou Enlai, Gomulka, Dubcek, Masaryk, Kadar). Most useful are the well-annotated bibliography of English-language sources, complete and handily organized by topics arranged in rough chronology, and the lists of archival and Web sources and of relevant films. [Choice]
The Harvard Guide to African-American History by
Call Number: REF E185.H326
Publication Date: 2001-06-25
Comprehensive bibliography contains 12 essays on historical research aids and over 15,000 bibliographic entries covering the full range of African-American history. Although the entries are not annotated, this is still an indispensible guide to research on any topic in African-American history.
The Literature of Rock, 1954-1978 by
Call Number: ML128.R6H6
Publication Date: 1981-04-01
A bibliographic guide to published rock journalism and criticism covering the period from 1954 through 1978.