Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST4800: Rock'n'Roll and American Society: Databases for Secondary Sources

Databases for Secondary Sources

ABI/Inform Complete (Business Periodicals Database)
A comprehensive full-text source on business topics, ABI/INFORM features scholarly research from peer-reviewed journals (including over 3,000 full-text publications), trade and industry news, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Specialized subsidiary databases include accounting and tax news, banking and financial services news and research, proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives from Hoover's, pharmaceutical and telecommunications industry news, international market and industry research reports, and analytical articles covering world and regional economic and political developments of major significance. An excellent source for trade publications connected with the music business. [August 1971 - Present]

 
Academic Search Complete
Large, interdisciplinary full-text database contains over 8,500 full-text publications, including academic journals, magazines, books, and trade publications. Offers broad subject coverage for a variety of disciplines, including anthropology, area studies, biology, chemistry, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and many other fields. It is recommended you include the expression "SU United States History" when searching the database to obtain focused results. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.

 
America: History and Life
Bibliographic database contains over 400,000 citations and abstracts for journal and magazine articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering the world's scholarly literature about the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes material from over 2,100 journals and magazines written in over 40 languages, although the majority of items were published in English. Most of the items in the database were issued after 1959. Many records now contain links to full-text articles in other Library databases. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.

 
Business Source Premier
Full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. An excellent source for trade publications connected with the music business.
 

JSTOR
The JSTOR electronic journal archive includes full-text backfiles for several major scholarly journals in history, education, and sociology. The collection can be searched or browsed. From the openning screen, select appropriate subject collections from the list of disciplines before entering your search terms. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.

 
Lexis-Nexis Academic
Full-text database contains current and archives files for U.S. and foreign newspapers, broadcast media transcripts, congressional news releases, transcripts of congressional hearings, presidential and departmental press briefings, legal news, federal and state statutes and case law, federal regulations, polling data from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, and biographical sources. This database is one of your best options when searching for mass media coverage of rock'n'roll history, and is most comprehensive for the period after 1980. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


 
Music Periodicals Database (formerly the International Index to Music Periodicals)
Bibliographic database containing over 1.3 million citation records for articles from more than 425 international music periodicals, with full-text access for selected titles. The majority of citation records date from 1996 to the present, with approximately 200,000 records covering the period from 1874 to 1995. The database covers a comprehensive range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals. Articles examine the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theater, theory, popular music forms and composition. Articles cover a diverse array of musical genres, from the liturgical chants of medieval monks to the eclectic sounds of contemporary alternative rock musicians. Updated monthly. [1874 - Present] Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.

 
ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central is a large multidisciplinary database indexing over 14,000 publications, the majority of them available in full text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, and more. The publications include over 6,500 scholarly journals, over 3,600 trade publications, over 2,000 magazines and newspapers, and over 800 industry reports, plus dissertations and theses, company annual reports, and videos. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.

 
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective, 1890-1982
Access to citations from over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines spanning the period from 1890 to 1982. Includes articles from the most widely read popular periodicals of the day, journals of news and opinion, and a selection of research publications. For the years after 1982, see our paper edition available in the Reference Collection at Call Number REF AI3.R48

 
Sociological Abstracts
This bibliographic database is the best place to look for scholarly research articles on topics in sociology. Over 635,000 records cover journals and other publications in sociology from 1963 to the present. In many cases, articles in the database may be available online. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.

 
Women's Studies International
This bibliographic database covers the core disciplines in women’s studies, including sociology, history, political science and economy, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business and education. Sources indexed include journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites and web documents, and grey literature. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.

 
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international journal literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public policy. Over 440,000 records cover articles from more than 1,400 periodical titles, with coverage from 1975 to the present. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.

Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website