Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST4800: Rock'n'Roll and American Society: Web-Based Digital Collections

Web-Based Digital Collections

allmusic - AMG
Search this incredibly "comprehensive music reference" database by artist, album, song, label, style, and more. Read essays, reviews, and blog posts from AMG editorial staff and expert contributors. Learn about and listen to any music style's seminal artists and albums. Offers videos too.


Detroit Rock History, 1965-1980 (Subject Pathfinder)
This Internet Public Library pathfinder is a research guide to rock music history in Detroit, Ann Arbor and southeastern Michigan. The guide also provides tips on researching individual artists. Print, audio-visual, archival, and Internet resources are listed.


Historical Text Archive: Rock’n’Roll Links
"This history Web site offers articles, books, maps, and photographs on various subject categories, including genealogy, history, religion, rock-n-roll, wars, and women's studies. In addition, it provides information on individual countries and has over 5,000 related links in its database." [Internet Scout Project]


House of the Rising Punk
Comprehensive site on the world of punk rock, featuring links to bands, labels, stores, zines, and regional scene and club information.


The Joe Smith Collection at the Library of Congress
More than 25 years ago, retired music executive Joe Smith (Capitol Records/EMI) accomplished a Herculean feat—he got more than 200 celebrated singers, musicians and industry icons to talk about their lives, music, experiences and contemporaries. In 2012 Smith donated this treasure trove of unedited sound recordings to the nation’s library. The Joe Smith Collection contains over 225 recordings of noted artists and executives and is a veritable who’s who in the music industry. They include Artie Shaw, Woody Herman, Ray Charles, Barbra Streisand, Little Richard, Bob Dylan, Paul McCartney, George Harrison, Elton John, Paul Simon, David Bowie, Billy Joel, Sting, Tony Bennett, Joan Baez, James Taylor, Dick Clark, Tina Turner, Tom Jones, B.B. King, Quincy Jones, David Geffen, Mickey Hart, Harry Belafonte and many others. All types of popular music are represented—from rock ‘n’ roll, jazz, rhythm & blues and pop to big-band, heavy metal, folk and country-western.tion.


Live Music Archive (from the Internet Archive)
Internet Archive's Live Music library. etree.org is a community committed to providing the highest quality live concerts in a lossless, downloadable format. The Internet Archive has teamed up with etree.org to preserve and archive as many live concerts as possible for current and future generations to enjoy. All music in this Collection is from trade-friendly artists and is strictly non-commercial, both for access here and for any further distribution. Artists' commercial releases are off-limits. This collection is maintained by the etree.org community. The archive currently features over 120,000 live concerts by over 6,000 bands.


Nasty! Nasty! Punk Rock in the UK 1976-1979
This searchable site from Punk77 includes brief descriptions of over one hundred bands, a feature on women in punk, and a general history of the music and the scene. Here you can also find an abundance of photos, selected audio clips (WAV format), and links.


NYC Taper
An extensive collection of live music recordings from in and around the New York City area. The archive goes back to 2007.


Perfect Sound Forever
With its title from the tag line of the original 1983 promotion for CD, and its own tag line "The online music magazine with warped perspectives" this site provides substantial articles and interviews in the interesting by-ways of rock and related musics. Much of the material (which shows higher regard for musicians than for the music business) is contributed from the readership. With monthly editions, an archive and links to related sites, this is a rich source for exploring beyond the canon established by the mainstream media. [ipl2]


Pitchfork
Stay current with newly released independent music by reading daily reviews, interviews and news. Search through an extensive archive of content for older artists or albums.


Punk
Contains images of covers, articles, artwork, and tables of contents of the music magazine Punk, which was published from 1976 through 1979 and revived in 2000. Searchable.


Punk and Indie Rock (Subject Pathfinder)
This Internet Public Library pathfinder serves as an introduction to some of the many resources available to anyone interested in punk and indie rock music and culture. Both print and Internet sources are provided.


Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and Museum
Includes inductees, sound clips, birthdates, a timeline, materials for students and teachers, and more.


Rockabilly Hall of Fame
This commercial site features biographical information on 5,000 artists, industry news, tour schedules, concert reviews, Web and radio stations, photographs, audio clips, and more. Rockabilly is an "exciting blend of the blues, country and gospel" from the mid 1950s and includes greats such as Buddy Holly, Everly Brothers, Gene Vincent, and Ray Campi. Searchable.


Search & Destroy - Punk Rock and Roll Search Engine
This is a search engine indexing over 750 sites on punk rock music, including Old School Punk, Glam-Punk, Garage/LoFi Punk, and Primitive Rock and Roll. It also features news and a browsable list of categories.


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website