LibGuides: ELLM5170: Information Sources and Services: Databases for Teaching and Learning

Have a Question? Contact a Librarian:

By phone

Call 973-720-2116

The Reference Desk is staffed until 10PM Sunday-Friday and until 8:00pm on Saturday.

By e-mail

Send your question to the Reference Desk via email - refdesk@wpunj.edu Allow 24 hours for a response.

Schedule a Research Appointment

Contact the library for an appointment with a Reference Librarian: Schedule Research Help

Databases from the NJ State Library

Jersey Clicks is a collection of databases that have been licensed by the NJ State Library for use by all NJ state residents. To access Jersey Clicks you must use the bar code number on your local library card. Your school library can receive FREE in-house access to any or all of these databases by contacting the NJ State Library.

JerseyClicks

Databases for Teachers and Librarians

These online subscription databases are useful for teachers and librarians. They can find curriculum resources, children's and young adult literature, etc.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
Contains over one million fiction/non-fiction titles, hundreds of thousands of awards and professional reviews including author/title links, lesson plans and teaching guides. The search engine offers multiple options including 50 search filters for finding materials to determine interest and reading levels, selecting trade books based on standards, creating thematic and annotated biographies, interpreting reviews, developing classroom collections, book challenges and collection development. [1761 - present]
NoveList K-8 Plus This link opens in a new window
Subject access for over 59,000 fiction and nonfiction titles aimed at the K-8 population. Also offers full-text reviews for sources like School Library Journal and Booklist. Includes access to teacher resources for promoting reading, articles on teaching with fiction, scripts of book talks, and tips on using picture books as a springboard to interesting and educational activities. Cost: Free through NJ State Library.
Something About the Author Online (Volumes 200-361, 2009-2021) This link opens in a new window
Something About the Author is a biographical reference database providing illustrated biographical profiles of more than 750 children's authors and artists. Entries typically cover: personal life, career, writings, works in progress, adaptations, and additional sources.

Databases for Students, Grades 1-8

These online databases are sources of information for elementary students. With the exception of World Book all are available free through the NJ State Library.

Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text database with content from over 140 middle school magazines. Includes reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays, as well as primary source documents in American history, material from popular middle school reference resources, and an image collection of over 290,000 photos, maps and flags. Cost: Free through NJ State Library
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Full-text database designed for elementary schools. Contains content from over 60 popular elementary school magazines, plus materials from standard elementary school reference sources and an image collection featuring over 290,000 photos, maps and flags. Available free through the NJ State Library.
NoveList K-8 Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides subject access for thousands of fiction and non-fiction titles for grades K-8. Also provides full-text reviews and teacher resources.

Databases for Students, Grades 9-12

These online databases are sources of information for high school students. With the exception of Literature Research Center all are available free through the NJ State Library. Check JerseyClicks.org for more databases.

Literary Reference Center
Full-text literary reference database contains plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles and essays of literary criticism; author biographies; book reviews; the text of many classic and contemporary poems and short stories; author interviews; and classic literary texts. The database also contains full-text reference content from a number of literature encyclopedias. From EbscoHost. Cost: Free through the NJ State Library.
Literature Resource Center
Full-text database from Gale that provides detailed biographical, bibliographical and contextual information about authors' lives and works. Also includes full-text articles, critical essays and reviews from scholarly journals and literary magazines, as well as selected full-text critical essays and reviews from the database publisher's compilations of literary criticism, plus author interviews, links to web sites, and more.

Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text database designed to provide multiple sides of a variety of current issues. The database currently offers materials on 200 topics, and each topic section features an overview along with point and counterpoint essays drawn from a variety of sources, plus supplementary information including primary source documents and guides to critical thinking.

Education Librarian

Neil Grimes

Email Me

Contact:

Education & Curriculum Materials Librarian
Office, Room 114c
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-3184

Subjects: Education Research, Education, Elementary & Early Childhood P-8, Education, Middle & Secondary 6-12, Educational Leadership and Professional Studies