LibGuides: ELLM5170: Information Sources and Services: Finding education articles

Scholarly Articles

In your coursework you are expected to use high quality, scholarly sources of information. The following tutorial will help you understand what scholarly sources are.

Scholarly v. Popular
This 5-minute, self-paced tutorial will introduce you to the differences between Popular and Scholarly articles.
Following the lesson, a quiz will test you on your understanding of the material.

Have a Question? Contact a Librarian:

By phone

Call 973-720-2116

The Reference Desk is staffed until 10PM Sunday-Friday and until 5:00pm on Saturday.

By e-mail

Send your question to the Reference Desk via email - refdesk@wpunj.edu Allow 24 hours for a response.

Databases for Education and Library Topics

Here are links and brief descriptions of the Library databases that can be used to find articles about education and libraries.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Large, interdisciplinary database containing over 8500 full-text publications, including academic journals, magazines, books and trade publications. Partially funded by the New Jersey State Library.
ERIC (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The ERIC database, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, provides access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials. Included in the database are citation records, abstracts, and (where available) full-text links for journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. [1966 - present]
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes nearly 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings.
Includes full text of many articles.
Google Scholar (Full Text @ Cheng Library) This link opens in a new window
Access Google Scholar from the Library's webpage so it will link you to full-text articles that are available from the Cheng Library.
Look for the link, Full-Text @ Cheng Library.
Many other full text resources (books, ERIC documents, etc.) are accessible through Google Scholar.
ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 1100 education related periodical titles, and 18,000 dissertations. Includes full text access for 650 titles.

Education Librarian

Neil Grimes

Email Me

Contact:

Education & Curriculum Materials Librarian
Office, Room 114c
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-3184

Subjects: Education Research, Education, Elementary & Early Childhood P-8, Education, Middle & Secondary 6-12, Educational Leadership and Professional Studies