Sociology Resources: Criminal Justice Resources

The U.S. Department of Justice a wide variety of current, well-organized statistical data and reports on most aspects of criminal justice in a site that is easy to browse and search.

Published by the Federal Bureau of Investigation, Crime in the United States presents 81 data tables containing information on the following topics: Offenses known to police, Persons arrested, and Police employees

This site is sponsored by seven Federal government agencies involved in the dissemination of information about crime and justice. Its topical coverage includes corrections, the courts, crime prevention, criminal justice statistics, drugs and crime, international developments, juvenile justice, law enforcement, research and evaluation, and victims.

The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) is a special topic archive of the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) at the University of Michigan. NACJD acquires, archives, processes, and provides access to electronic criminal justice data collections for research and instruction. The NACJD Web site provides downloadable access to hundreds of criminal justice data collections free of charge.

The Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse (CASA) at Columbia provides a variety of information resources designed to inform Americans of the economic and social costs of substance abuse and its impact on their lives, and to assess what works in prevention, treatment, and law enforcement. Its publications page includes links to over three dozen full-text research reports, and the site also includes useful bibliographies and links to other resources.

The annual Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 100 sources about all aspects of criminal justice in the United States. These data are displayed in over 600 tables. The electronic version of Sourcebook's tables and sections are presented in Adobe Acrobat (*.pdf) format; the tables also are available as spreadsheets. A search engine is available for the Sourcebook's Index and Table/Figures list.

Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) is a city, county, and state law enforcement program which provides a nationwide view of crime based on the submission of statistics by law enforcement agencies throughout the country. through the UCR Program, the FBI has collected and compiled data to use in law enforcement administration, operation, and management, as well as to indicate fluctuations in the level of crime in America.

The USSC is an independent agency in the judicial branch of government that establishes sentencing policies and practices for the federal courts, advises in the development of crime policy, researches a information on federal crime and sentencing issues. Its web site contains a rich variety of full-text documents and statistical data, plus links to related sites.