Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Read up on the many sociological theories that you'll refer to in your studies, as well as the men and women that developed them.
Dead Sociologists' Society
Site developed by Prof. Larry R. Ridener at Pfeiffer University for use in the social theory section of his Introduction to Sociology course includes good summaries of the work of 16 major social theorists, plus links to many other resources.
Georg Simmel Online
Good web resource on Simmel's work and significance edited by a team from the Soziologisches Institut at the University of Zurich. Contains a large online archive of Simmel's books and essays in German, a small collection of texts in English translation, and writings about Simmel's work.
George's Page: A Mead Project Site
Web-based repository for documents by, about and related to the work of American pragmatist philosopher and social psychologist George Herbert Mead. The heart of the site is an online collection of 111 full-text publications by Mead, including his classic Mind, Self, and Society from the Perspective of a Social Behaviorist. Developed by the Sociology Department at Brock University in Canada.
Marx and Engels Internet Archive
Full-text digital library contains all the major works of classical social theorist Karl Marx and his collaborator Frederick Engels.
Verstehen: Max Weber's HomePage
Site developed by Prof. Frank Elwell of Rogers State University in Oklahoma for undergraduate students in a social theory course includes a discussion of Weber's major theoretical concepts and other resources.