LibGuides: Counseling and Student Services Resources: Other Resources

Resources

A Thin Line: An initiative of MTV, A Thin Line campaign was developed to help teens to understand that with digital media there is a "thin line" between a harmless joke and something that can impact many lives. The website deals with sexting, constant messaging, spying, digital disrespect and cruelty by defining the terms, identifying possible repercussions and suggesting strategies for dealing with the problem.
Grades: 6 - 12

Bullying and Cyberbullying Prevention

The Anti-Defamation League offers reproducible resources for educators, parents and students to combat bullying and cyberbullying. It also provides training and workshops for students, educators and parents.
Grades: K - 12

Counseling Career Information
The "Careers" section of the Counseling Psychology website offers an overview of counseling career paths—including specialties (like school, mental health, or substance abuse counseling)—along with guidance on selecting degree levels (bachelor’s, master’s, doctorate), finding programs, and the steps to become licensed and practice professionally.

Grades: 6-20

Cyberbullying Research Center: The Cyberbullying Research Center is a clearinghouse for parents, educators, and others who work with teens. Directed by Dr. Sameer Hinduja and Dr. Justin Patchin who have been studying cyberbullying for over 10 years. It includes information about research, laws, and personal stories. Includes downloadable handouts and activity sheets that can be used with teens.
Grades: 7 - 12

Harassment, Intimidation and Bullying (HIB): Part of the "Keeping Kids Safe" portion of the NJ Department of Education's website. This section focuses specifically on the Anti-Bullying Civil Rights Act and resources that schools can use to support its implementation. Includes links to government agencies, professional organizations, government reports, regulations and other resources.
Grades: K - 12

How to Talk to Kids About Difficult Subjects: Caroline Knorr of Common Sense Media gives advice for talking to children about incidents of violence, racism and other difficult topics. The suggestions are focused on three age groups, children ages 2 to 6, 7 to 12. and teens.
Grades: PreK - 12

Keeping Our Kids Safe, Healthy & In School: Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drug Abuse: The NJ Department of Education curated this collection of resources regarding the prevention, intervention and treatment of substance abuse. Resources include laws, state and federal agencies, as well as other organizations devoted to this issue.
Grades: K - 12

Keeping our Kids Safe, Healthy and in School: Part of the N.J. Department of Education webpage, this section focuses on Student Health, Student Behavior, Afterschool Programs, Social Services, Safe and Positive Learning Environment and Other Educational Services. Includes data, policies and guidelines, information about state programs, and many additional resources.
Grades: PreK - 12

Ken Rigby: Education professor, Ken Rigby has researched the topic of bullying since 1990. This website defines bullying, and discusses what schools and parents can do to reduce and deal with bullying. He provides extensive information about various intervention strategies.
Grades: K - 12

National Association of School Psychologists: Resources: NASP (National Association of School Psychologists) provides suggestions to help students cope with a variety of issues from social justice to terrorism. A number of Safety and Crisis resources are available in Spanish and other languages.
Grades: K - 12

NJ Bullying.org: Developed by the NJ Coalition for Bullying Awareness this website includes links to related websites, a guide to selecting an anti-bullying program, how to get help to deal with bullying and other resources.
Grades: K - 12

Parenting Resources from The Fred Rogers Company: The Parenting Resources page suggests how parents, teachers and counselors can handle new and challenging situations with young children. Topics such as meeting someone with disabilities, dealing with death and tragic events in the news, provide helpful hints and many include video clips from the Mister Rogers program.
Grades: PreK - 2

Preventing suicide: A global imperative: The World Health Organization (WHO), a branch of the United Nations, published this report about how nations can prevent suicide. The report is available in five languages. Additional links provide key messages and myths about suicide.
Grades: 6 - 12

Preventing Suicide: A Resource for Teachers and other School Staff

Published by the World Health Organization (WHO) this publication gives general information about the problem, risk factors and protective factors, how to identify a student at risk, and strategies for prevention.
Grades: 6 - 12

Psychology Career Information

The "Careers in Psychology" section of the Counseling Psychology site outlines entry‑ and advanced‑level job paths in psychology—both clinical and non‑clinical—including required degrees (from associate’s through doctorate), licensure prerequisites, specializations, and typical roles like psychiatric technician, market researcher, or career advisor.

Grades: 6-20

School Psychology: Resources for Parents, Teachers and Psychologists: This site provides information about psychological conditions, disorders, and handicaps, which are often encountered in schoolchildren. With separate sections for parents, teachers and psychologists resources include links, guides, and recommended strategies.
Grades: K - 12

StopBullying.gov: Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, this website provides information about bullying, cyberbullying, bullying victims, and ways to prevent and respond to bullying. It includes separate sections for Parents, Educators, Community, Teens and Kids, as well as video clips, state policies and laws, additional resources, and how to get help. A Spanish version of the website is available.
Grades: K - 12