Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Counseling and Student Services Resources: Home

Professional Resources for counseling and student services in grades Pre-K-12.

Associations/Organizations

American School Counselor Association (ASCA)
ASCA represents school counselors and promotes professionalism and ethical practices. The organization focuses on professional development, the enhancement of school counseling programs, and research towards effective school counseling practices.
Grades: K - 12
Association of Educational Therapists (AET)
AET is a national professional association that develops standards, training programs and public awareness of the practive of educational therapy for children and adults with learning disabilities. The website provides information about membership, certification, professional development, and research.
Grades: K - 12
National Association of School Psychologists
With the theme: "Helping children achieve their best. At school. At home. In life.," this website provides support and resources for psychology students, early professionals and working school psychologists, as well as for families and other educators. It includes information about standards, professional development, advocacy and other professional issues. Its resource list includes information on crisis resources in numerous foreign languages.
Grades: K - 12
National Child Traumatic Stresss Network (NCTSN)
NCTSN, funded by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, provides resources for parents, teachers and others to provide support to traumatized children and adolescents. Resources are available for all types of traumas from natural disasters, physical and sexual abuse, terrorism, and acts of violence.
Grades: PreK - 12
National Institute of Mental Health
The mission of NIMH is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery and cure. This website provides background about various mental disorders, as well as information about clinical trials, research, statistics, etc. Free publications are available. Part of the National Institutes of Health.
Grades: PreK - 12
SAMHSA (Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration)
SAMHSA, an agency within the US Department of Health and Human Services, was established "to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities." This website provides information and resources about the prevention, treatment and recovery from a wide range of health issues. Topics covered include suicide prevention, recovery from disasters, alcohol abuse and substance abuse. Within most of these topics a variety of print and online resources can be retrieved. Available in multiple languages.
Grades: PreK - 12

Bibliographies and Research Guides

Bullying Resources
A selected list of books available in the Curriculum Materials Center that address the topic of bullying in and out of the classroom.
Grades: PreK - 12
Character Education
This is a selected list of curriculum resources that can be used for character education in the K-12 classroom. These resources are available in the Curriculum Materials Center of the Cheng Library.
Grades: K - 12
Death and Dying Book List
A selection of books available in the Curriculum Materials Center of the Cheng Library that address the issues of death, dying and grief for children in Grades PreK-8.
Grades: PreK - 8
LGBT Books
A selected list of books and resources available in the Curriculum Materials Center of the David and Lorraine Cheng Library about lesbian, gay, bi-sexual, and transgender children, teens and parents.
Grades: K - 12
Words that Heal: Using Children's Literature to Address Bullying
Part of Anti-bias lesson plans and resources for K-12 Educators developed by the Anti-Defamation League, Words that Heal includes many resources about using literature to reduce bullying. In addition to articles about why and how to use literature in the K-12 classrrom this website has lists of appropriate titles, discussion guides for specific titles, statistics, research, and teaching activities.
Grades: PreK - 12

Librarian

Profile Photo
Neil Grimes
Contact:
Education & Curriculum Materials Librarian
Office, Room 114c
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-3184