Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Visual and Performing Arts Educational Resources: Lesson Plans and Teaching Activities

A guide for locating teaching resources related Visual and Performing Arts for PreK-12.

Bibliographies and Research Guides

Cut Paper Illustrated Children's Books
An annotated list of picture books that are illustrated using cut paper. All titles are available in the Curriculum Materials Center of the Cheng Library.
Grades: PreK - 3
Visual and Performing Arts
A selected list of resources to assist in the teaching of music, dance, visual arts and drama. These resources are available in the Curriculum Materials Center of the David and Lorraine Cheng Library.
Grades: K - 12

Lesson Plans and Teaching Activities

American Memory from the Library of Congress
The American Memory Project is a digital record of American history, containing documents, maps, photographs, moving images, sound recordings and memorabilia from American life. The collection of over 5 million items chronicles daily life as well as major events. Searchable by broad subjects or keywords. The Teachers section includes sample lesson plans and other teaching suggestions.
Grades: 3 - 12
ArtsEdge: Lessons
ArtsEdge is the educational media branch of the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. Its website provides free arts-based lesson plans and projects for the visual and performing arts.
Grades: K - 12
ARTSEDNET, the Getty's Art Education Website
The Getty Museum helps teachers develop many different lesson plans that incorporate art into teaching with this useful website. It lists ideas for teachers incorporate examples of visual art into their classrooms and ways for students to express their ideas using multimedia techniques.
Grades: K - 12
Avalon Arts Studio for Children
Artist Charlene McNally suggests art projects from 3D to printmaking to painting to nonmessy art. Includes recipes for making play dough, flubber, etc. as well as links to other art resources.
Grades: PreK - 8
Crayola Creatively Alive Children
A collaboration between Crayola and the National Association of Elementary School Principals this professional development series was designed to support arts-infused education to help children build creativity, critical thinking, collaboration and communication (21st century skills). Includes videos, guides and other resources.
Grades: K - 5
Four Great Lesson Plans on Copyright
Common Sense Education offers four lesson plans (grades K-2, 3-5, 6-8, 9-12) that help students understand to give credit to their own work, respect the rights of other people's work, know what rights they have as creators, and what they should consider when using the creative work of others.
Grades: K - 12
Incredible Art Department
"The Incredible Art Department is for art teachers, art students, parents, homeschoolers and artists. IAD includes information on art jobs, art careers, art schools, art education, lesson plans, visual art news, and art resources." Developed and maintained by Ken Rohrer, and elementary school art teacher.
Grades: PreK - 12
Smithsonian Education
Created by the Smithsonian Center for Education and Museum Studies this website provides lesson plans and other resources from the Smithsonian Institute. Searchable by keyword, grade level, subject area or standards, the resources range from activity sheets, photos, videos and across all subject areas.
Grades: PreK - 12
Teachers Guide Series
From the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences comes this collection of teachers' guides that are designed to promote critical thinking, creative writing, and visual literacy through the study of film. Guides focus on many film related topics such as animation, costume design, and visual effects.
Grades: 6 - 12
Walters Art Museum
Many of the lesson plans from the Education Department of The Walters Art Museum (Baltimore, MD) integrate visual art with social studies, language arts, science and math. Most content is aligned with the Common Core Standards. The Teacher Resources section includes lessons that align with the Common Core Standards.
Grades: K - 12