Skip to Main Content
Bibliographies and Research Guides
- New Jersey Teaching Resources
- Resources for teaching about New Jersey, selected from the Curriculum Materials Center of the Cheng Library. This list includes textbooks, teaching aids and children's literature.
Grades: K - 12
Software and Media
- It Happened Here: New Jersey
- As part of New Jersey's 350th anniversary this series of nearly 30 short videos were created to acknowledge many "firsts" for the state. Topics of the videos range from Washington's crossing the Delaware to the Miss America pageant, the Newark Eagles, and the Paterson Silk Strike.
Grades: 4 - 12
Standards
- New Jersey 350: Innovation, Diversity, Liberty
- Celebrate NJ's 350 anniversary! This website lists events, resources and contests. A blog provides insights into NJ history. Teaching resources are included. Also includes a list of "101 Great New Jersey Books."
Grades: 4 - 12
Lesson Plans and Teaching Activities
- Celebrate New Jersey
- Celebrate NJ! is a nonprofit organization that seeks to promote the best of New Jersey. Celebrate NJ supports several K-5 writing programs (NJ Scoop, Revolutionary NJ, and The CRUNCH Bunch), as well as Students in Action for middle and high school students.
Grades: K - 12
- New Jersey Agricultural Society
- The mission of the New Jersey Agricultural Society is "to preserve and enhance agriculture, farming and related activities and businesses in New Jersey through educational, informational, and promotional programs." The Learning Through Gardening link provides lesson plan and teaching activities about agriculture, weather and other science topics.
Grades: 2 - 6
- New Jersey Amistad Commission Interactive Curriculum
- The goal of the New Jersey Amistad Commission is to fulfill the legislation of the Amistad Bill, which mandates that African American history must be incorporated into the Social Studies curriculum of all New Jersey schools. The Commission works to develop this curriculum and distribute curriculum materials to school and educators. This website includes teaching materials and resources that adhere to the current learning standards such as Common Core. NOTE:to access the materials, a login is required.
Grades: K - 12
- New Jersey Digital Highway
- Your "one stop shop" for New Jersey history and culture, from the collections of NJ libraries, museums, archives and historical societies. It provides primary sources such as photographs, documents, and maps from the American Revolution, Civil War, Cold War and in social protest during the 1960's and 70's.
Grades: 6 - 12
- New Jersey Historical Commission
- With its mission "to enrich the lives of the public by preserving the historical record and advancing interest in and awareness of New Jersey's past" this website provides information about grants and awards, special events and links to lesson plans and other teaching resources.
Grades: K - 12
- New Jersey History Kids
- Multimedia clips and accompanying teaching materials focus on 11 New Jersey locations to teach children from grades K-4 about the geography and history of the state. The Lenape Indians, American Revolution, Industrial Revolution, Underground Railroad, Thomas Edison, farming, the Pinelands and the shore are introduced through this website.
Grades: K - 4
- New Jersey Women's History
- Facts, images, documents and sample lesson plans are included in this web site designed by the Women's Project of New Jersey in collaboration with Rutgers University Libraries and the Alice Paul Institute.
Grades: 3 - 12
Other Resources
- Indian King Tavern Museum
- The Indian King Tavern in Haddonfield, NJ played a significant role during the American Revolution. The website of this historic inn relates the history of Haddonfield and of the tavern, as well as information about tours and other activities.
Grades: 4 - 8
- New Jersey Division of Archives & Records Management
- The Division of Archives and Records Management operates the State Archives, the official repository for the study of New Jersey history and genealogy, and the State Records Storage Center. It includes records from nearly three hundred years of New Jersey history, including documents, maps, photographs and other records, many of them in digital format.
Grades: 6 - 12
- New Jersey Legislature
- Find information about bills, statutes, districts, legislators and the New Jersey legislature. View or listen to live proceedings. The Kids Page answers questions about the law-making process and includes state symbols and puzzle pages.
Grades: 9 - 12
