Skip to Main Content
Associations/Organizations
Bibliographies and Research Guides
- Celebrating Black Pride
- A selected bibliography of materials for teaching about African American history in the PreK-12 classroom. These materials are available in the Curriculum Materials Center of the Cheng Library.
Grades: PreK - 12
Databases
- Lost Friends
- A searchable database of almost 2500 advertisements that "featured messages from individuals searching for loved ones lost in slavery." The ads originally appeared in the Southwestern Christian Advocate from 1877 to 1896. The collection is searchable by first or last name, or by state, county or city.
Grades: 6 - 12
Lesson Plans and Teaching Activities
- American Civil Liberties Union: Racial Justice
- The Racial Justice webpage of the ACLU website provides information and news stories about current issues relating to racial justice and civil rights.
Grades: 9 - 12
- American Experience: Eyes on the Prize
- Eyes on the Prize is a 14 hour documentary series about the Civil Rights movement that was produced by PBS. This companion website includes primary sources (newspaper and magazine articles, video footage, photos, etc.) from the murder of Emmett Till in 1955 until 2006. The Teachers section contains sample lesson plans for elementary, middle school and high school.
Grades: 5 - 12
- Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
- The Birmingham Civil Rights Institute (BCRI) was founded to commemorate its civil rights history. This companion website to the museum includes oral histories, an interactive timeline, multimedia clips, primary source materials, and a curriculum guide.
Grades: K - 12
- Civil Rights Digital Library
- The Civil Rights Digital Library, a project of the University of Georgia, is a comprehensive effort to identify and collect resources about the Civil Rights movement from 1950-1969. It includes primary source materials (sound and video recordings, photos, government documents, diaries, etc.) as well as links to resources in other collections. The Educator Resources consists of lesson plans, study guides, timelines, worksheets, etc.
Grades: 6 - 12
- Gilder Lehrman Center Amistad Page
- This webpage from the Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance and abolition at Yale University provides a lesson plan (click on "The Amistad Case"), as well as links to other resources about the Amistad.
Grades: 6 - 12
- History Channel: Brown v. Board of Education Ruling
- The History Channel's website features a section on Speeches and Audio, where you can listen to the radio news broadcast of the Brown v. Board of Education ruling. The news report demonstrates the segregation of the 1950's, as seen through the media.
Grades: 6 - 12
- Landmark Cases: Dred Scott
- This page describes the 1857 case of Dred Scott v. Sandford. Landmark Cases of the Supreme Court is a joint effort between Street Law, Inc., a nonprofit organization, and the Supreme Court Historical Society. Each landmark case on the website provides an overview of the case, teaching materials, and the case decision.
Grades: 6 - 12
- Library of Congress: Plessy v. Ferguson
- This webpage, produced by the American Memory project from the Library of Congress, features information about Plessy v. Ferguson, the 1896 Supreme Court ruling that upheld the practice of separate but equal facilities. The webpage includes facts, photographs and links to other resources related to segregation and civil rights.
Grades: 6 - 12
- New Jersey Amistad Commission Interactive Curriculum
- The goal of the New Jersey Amistad Commission is to fulfill the legislation of the Amistad Bill, which mandates that African American history must be incorporated into the Social Studies curriculum of all New Jersey schools. The Commission works to develop this curriculum and distribute curriculum materials to school and educators. This website includes teaching materials and resources that adhere to the current learning standards such as Common Core. NOTE:to access the materials, a login is required.
Grades: K - 12
- Separate is not equal: Brown v. Board of Education
- In 2004 the Smithsonian National Museum of American History mounted an exhibit commemorating the 50th anniversary of the Brown v. Board of Education decision. This website tells the story of the history of the fight for equal rights through text, images, quotes and other primary sources. Resources include an annotated bibliography, timeline and teacher's guide.
Grades: 4 - 12
- Women in African History
- This is an interactive site from UNESCO about women in African history. It provides "modules" on various women, each of which includes a comic, quiz, biography, and other resources. To view the full list of historical women available on this site, click on "Alter view map" under the map on the home page. The modules for the women listed in orange are available; the ones listed in blue are in production.
Grades: 6 - 12
