Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health and Physical Education Resources: Other Resources

Resources that can be helpful for teaching Health and Physical Education , grades K-12.

Other Resources

Adolescent Health Transition Project
 
This website is designed for teens with special health care needs due to chronic disease, disability or developmental issues. Focuses primarily on transition issues of becoming independent. A project of the Center on Human Development and Disability at the University of Washington.
Grades: 6 - 12
Food Allergy Research and Education: Resources
 
Food Allergy Research & Education (FARE) works to keep those with food allergies safe and included. Resources for Schools lists national and state guidelines, care plans, training programs and how to deal with food allergy bullying.
Grades: PreK - 12
GirlsHealth
 
This website focuses on girls from ages 10-16. It covers a wide range of health topics, but not sexuality. The bullying section is very useful to educators and school counselors.
Grades: 7 - 12
iEmily
 
iEmily Inc. provides health and wellness information for girls. Sections on healthy eating, keeping fit, natural health, general questions about the body and feelings. "My story" offers girls to share their own personal story with others. Good resource for parents too.
Grades: 8 - 12
Keeping Our Kids Safe, Healthy & In School: Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drug Abuse
 
The NJ Department of Education curated this collection of resources regarding the prevention, intervention and treatment of substance abuse. Resources include laws, state and federal agencies, as well as other organizations devoted to this issue.
Grades: K - 12
Kids with Food Allergies (KFA)
 
Kids with Food Allergies, a division of the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America, provides information for families to keep their kids safe. It provides webinars, news, brochures, recipes and other information about food allergies.
Grades: PreK - 12
KidsHealth.org
 
Sponsored by The Nemours Center for Children's Health Media this pediatric health web site addresses the social, emotional, and medical concerns of children and teens in a developmentally appropriate way.
Grades: 2 - 12
Opioid Abuse Toolkit
 
Sponsored by Rutgers Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy the Opioid Abuse Toolkit is a resource for New Jersey community to raise awareness of the opioid epidemic "and provide resources for the prevention and treatment of opioid addiction." Resources include presentations, posters, flyers and social media templates.
Grades: 6 - 12
Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans
 
Developed by the US Department of Health & Human Services, the 2008 Physical Activity Guidelines provide recommendations for the amount and type of physical activity everyone needs for good health. Links to other health resources are included.
Grades: 2 - 12
Preventing suicide: A global imperative
 
The World Health Organization (WHO), a branch of the United Nations, published this report about how nations can prevent suicide. The report is available in five languages. Additional links provide key messages and myths about suicide.
Grades: 6 - 12
Preventing Suicide: A Resource for Teachers and other School Staff
 
Published by the World Health Organization (WHO) this publication gives general information about the problem, risk factors and protective factors, how to identify a student at risk, and strategies for prevention.
Grades: 6 - 12
SnackSafely.com
 
Includes the Safe Snack Guide which includes a list of food products that are safe to eat by children with food allergies. Developed by a parent of a child with food allergies the list is updated regularly. This website also includes news articles, flyers and other resources for parents and educators.
Grades: PreK - 12
Teen Health FX
 
Teens can ask questions, or access a list of questions and answers on many teen health issues, both medical and psychological. Created by the staff of Morristown Memorial Hospital, it includes tips from teens on the hospital's advisory board.
Grades: 6 - 12
TeensHealth
 
Part of the KidsHealth Network, a project of the Nemours Center, this website provides answers to teen's questions about all kinds of health issues. Includes links to discussions on Facebook. A Spanish version is available.
Grades: 6 - 12