LibGuides: Lynnae Failla's LibGuide- Writing in Ancient Civilizations: Ancient China

Database Resources

Britannica School
General encyclopedia that provides information for a variety of subject areas. Select the age level: middle school for your search.
EBSCO Primary Search
Provides articles from elementary magazines, encyclopedia entries, and thousands of images.

NOTE: To access the databases, you may need a username and password. Please go to the library Google Classroom to find the appropriate username and password for each database.

Useful Websites

Ancient History Encyclopedia
This is a trusted encyclopedia that contains a great deal of information on ancient writing systems.
Ancient Scripts- Writing Systems
The website provides very useful information for numerous ancient writing systems.
Ducksters
Provides a wide range of information pertaining to ancient China.
The British Museum- Ancient China
This resource provides useful information about ancient China. Make sure to click through all of the links to fully explore this resource!
National Geographic Kids- Ancient China
Provides basic fast facts about China including government, history and culture, and geography.

Books in Our Library

Cover image

Growing Up in Ancient China
	Call #: 931 TEA Teague, Ken, 1936-
	Published 2001
	Describes daily life in ancient China, discussing life in the country, life in the city, schools, festivals, and other aspects.

Cover image

WHAT DID THE ANCIENT CHINESE DO FOR ME?.
	Call #: 931 CAT Catel, Patrick
	Published 2010
	A look at what the ancient Chinese did to affect people today.

(*The following books are not in our library and were included for the purpose of this project. I used Novelist K-8 to find relevant print resources, and I will have to look into purchasing these books for our library for next year.)

Ancient Chinese Culture
	Call #: 931 MOR Morrow, Paula
	Published 2016
	Presents facts about ancient Chinese culture such as writing, philosophy, architecture, art, and funeral customs.

Hail! Ancient Chinese
	Call #: 931 CHA Challen, Paul C.
	Published 2011
	A look at the history, government, agriculture, military, art, religion, and everyday life of ancient China.

Just for Fun!

Tumble Books
Tumblebooks has a variety of fiction and nonfiction titles as well as documentary-style videos on various topics. Complete a keyword search to see what resources are available!

Cover image

Day of the Dragon King
	Call #: F OSB Osborne, Mary Pope.
	Series: Magic tree house ; #14
	Published 1998
	The magic tree house takes Jack and Annie back two thousand years to ancient China where they must find the original copy of an old legend before the Imperial Library is burned down by the evil Dragon King.

Yeh-Shen : A Cinderella Story from China
	Call #: 398.2 LOU Louie, Ai-Ling.
	Published 1996
	This version of the Cinderella story, in which a young girl overcomes the wickedness of her stepsister and stepmother to become the bride of a prince, is based on ancient Chinese manuscripts written 1000 years before the earliest European version.