LibGuides: HIST4040: Creation of the American Republic: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Credo Reference's Academic Core This link opens in a new window
The Credo Reference database is a portal to over 1,300 full-text reference titles from over 120 major publishers. Easy to search and browse, the Credo platform provides access to text, images, maps, statistics, and graphic concept maps to illustrate connections among and between topics. The titles, which range across subjects in art, biography, business, geography, history language, law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, the social sciences, and technology, are fully integrated through the Credo search platform, and the Credo database also provides numerous points for accessing other Cheng Library resources. Credo is a most useful starting point for general research on almost any topic.

Slavery in the United States: A Social, Political, and Historical Encyclopedia by Junius P. Rodriguez (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 1851095446
Publication Date: 2007-03-20
A comprehensive, contextual presentation of all aspects-social, political, and economic of slavery in the United States, from the first colonization through Reconstruction.
Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895: From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass by Paul Finkelman (Editor)
Call Number: REF E185.E545
ISBN: 0195167775
Publication Date: 2006-04-06
'This three-volume set provides "over 700 entries and 300 images covering events from the arrival of the first slaves in Jamestown, VA, in 1619 to the death of abolitionist Frederick Douglass in 1895. The first three volumes of this two-part encyclopedia series focus on activities, issues, and biographies that relate to blacks in the US." [Choice]
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History by Mary Kupiec Cayton, and Peter W. Williams (Editors)
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780684805610
Publication Date: 2001-03-26
Three-volume work contains lengthy essays (chronological and topical) and longer-than-average bibliographies. Consult the index for essays covering specific topics under more general themes.
Encyclopedia of American Studies by Simon Bronner, editor
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2018
Brings together a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present.
Encyclopedia of the Continental Congresses by Mark Grossman (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 1619251752
Publication Date: 2015-03-01
This two-volume set examines the in-depth history of the first Continental Congress in 1774 and the first Federal Congress in 1789. Coverage dives into the impact and role in the shaping and foundation of early American Society and government.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History by Michael Kazin (Editor); Rebecca Edwards (Editor); Adam Rothman (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 0691129711
Publication Date: 2009-11-29
This two-volume encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today. Broad in scope, the book addresses both the traditional topics of political history - such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents - and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more.

Colonial America: An Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural, and Economic History / edited by James Ciment. - Armonk, NY: Sharpe Reference, 2006. - 5 v. : ill., maps ; 29 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and indexes. - Call Number: REF E162.C68: Five-volume encyclopedia features "thematic overviews, six to ten pages in length, of seven major issues in Colonial life. The second (main) section consists of over 400 encyclopedic entries one to one and a half pages in length, covering most aspects of Colonial America. The third section houses chronologies corresponding to each thematic essay, each colony, and colonial Britain, Spain, and France. The fourth contains primary documents illustrating the history of the era, e.g., "Raising Colonial Children." Also includes a topic guide and general, biographical, and geographical indexes. Ancillary materials include a glossary and primary and secondary bibliographies." [Choice]
Dictionary of American History / Stanley I. Kutler. - 3rd ed. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2003. - Stanley I. Kutler, editor in chief.; 10 v. : ill., maps ; 29 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF E174.D52: 4,434 entries in ten volumes emphasize social, cultural, and demographic topics, while striving for diversity and inclusiveness. Also covers political, military, and economic developments in American history. Includes over 1,200 photographs and 252 maps, and the text is liberally supplemented with hundreds of cross-references. Volume 10 contains a massive index and "Guide to Research and Learning," which allows the Dictionary to be used as an American history textbook supplement and teaching tool. [Choice]
Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies / ed. by Jacob Ernest Cooke et al. - New York: C. Scribner's Sons, 1993. - 3 v. : maps ; 29 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF E45.E53: Three-volume encyclopedia features "274 signed essays cover the period 900-1860 and range in length from 1,000 to 15,000 words, with bibliographies and related cross-references. There are excellent maps, a chronology of events, and an index in Volume 3. For most topics, coverage is comprehensive and comparative. An excellent starting place for research." [Choice]
Encyclopedia of American Social History / Mary Kupiec Cayton, Elliott J. Gorn, and Peter W. Williams. - New York: Scribner ; Toronto; New York: Maxwell Macmillan Canada; Maxwell Macmillan International, 1993. - 019: 27791051; Mary Kupiec Cayton, Elliott J. Gorn, Peter W. Williams, editors.; 3 v; Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF HN57.E58: This three-volume set features 14 thematic sections and 180 essays covering a wide range of topics in social history, including periods of social change; methods and context; the construction of social identity; processes of social change; ethnic and racial subcultures; regionalism and regional subcultures; space and place; patterns of everyday life; work and labor; popular culture and recreation; family history; social problems, social control, and social protest; science, medicine and technology; and education and literacy.

Subject Guide

Richard Kearney

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470

973-720-2165

Subjects: Art, Business, Economics, Finance, and Global Business, History, Liberal Studies, Open Access / Open Educational Resources