Skip to main content

PBHL2920: LGBTQ Health: Getting Articles/ILL

Oh No!

My article isn’t available in full-text!

If you’re using a database like Sociological Abstracts, you will only get a short summary of each article (the Abstract); not the full-text.  Click the “Check Here For Full-Text” link on the page to find out whether one of our other databases has it, or if we have another format for this information (print, microfilm, microfiche, etc.).

Article Copy Service

As you conduct your research, you may come across articles that are not available online, but are owned by the library in another format (print, fiche, film).

Use the Article Request Form to have us scan and email these articles to your University email, usually within 48 hours!

Reciprocal Borrowing

The Cheng Library has made arrangements with other libraries in NJ, that allow you to borrow materials directly from those institutions.

  • PALS Plus offers reciprocal borrowing among public libraries in Passaic County.
  • VALENJ (Virtual Academic Library Environment of NJ) offers a variety or services to college students at participating NJ colleges and universities.

Learn more about participating libraries and policies.

Interlibrary Loan & Article Copy Tutorial

What is Interlibrary Loan?

As you become engaged in your research, you may uncover books and articles not available at the Cheng Library.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service provided by the library, where we obtain, whenever possible, materials not available in our collection, for educational and research purposes. This can include, but is not limited to, books, journal articles, documents, and audio-visual materials, although there are some exceptions (textbooks, archival material, etc.).  Materials are obtained from other libraries, both in this country and throughout the world.

Turnaround time is generally quite fast, with most articles requests being filled within a few days, and books within a few weeks.

For more information, visit the Interlibrary Loan & Article Service link on the library homepage.  A tutorial and instructions are available, if needed.

Found a Citation?

When reviewing articles and books, you might come across a citation for another article that you'd like to use. 

To find out if the Library has the article, use the Journals A-Z List tab on the Library homepage, and search for the journal name (not the name of the article).

This will tell you if we have the full-text of this article in another database OR in paper or microform (WPUNJ Print, WPUNJ Film, WPUNJ Fiche).

Check your citation to find out the year that the article was published and compare it to the available options.

This short tutorial will walk you through the above steps: