LibGuides: PBHL2920: LGBTQ Health: Online Resources

LGBT Issues of Health & Counseling

This section focuses on resources associated with general health care and mental health, in addition to specific topics of interest to LGBT individuals.

This is not an exhaustive list, and additional categories may be added. If you have suggestions, please contact me.

Successful Web Searching Tips

Get More Out of Google

This useful infographic introduces some useful search strategies to better use Google for academic searches. Please keep in mind that this is primarily for non-academic sources (i.e., those things you would normally find on the Library webpage).

Overview Resources

The Health of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People by Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health Issues and Research Gaps and Opportunities; Board on the Health of Select Populations Staff; Institute of Medicine
ISBN: 9780309210614
Publication Date: 2011

Healthy People 2020: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health
"LGBT individuals encompass all races and ethnicities, religions, and social classes. Sexual orientation and gender identity questions are not asked on most national or State surveys, making it difficult to estimate the number of LGBT individuals and their health needs."
The Kinsey Confidential
"Kinsey Confidential™ is a sexuality information service designed by The Kinsey Institute for Research in Sex, Gender, and Reproduction™ to meet the sexual health information needs of college-age adults."
The Healthcare Equality Index
"The Healthcare Equality Index (HEI) is a unique and invaluable resource for healthcare organizations seeking to provide equitable, inclusive care to LGBT Americans—and for LGBT Americans seeking healthcare organizations with a demonstrated commitment to their care. This free online survey, offered annually since 2007, has been widely praised for transforming LGBT healthcare nationwide."
Advocates for Youth: Publications on LGBTQ Issues
"Advocates for Youth champions efforts to help young people make informed and responsible decisions about their reproductive and sexual health. Advocates believes it can best serve the field by boldly advocating for a more positive and realistic approach to adolescent sexual health."
National Coalition for LGBT Health
"The National Coalition for LGBT Health is committed to improving the health and well being of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender individuals and communities through public education, coalition building and advocacy that focus on research, policy, education and training."
LGBT Elder Initiative
"The LGBTEI is dedicated to building bridges between Aging and LGBT service and community organizations and consumers through advocacy, information, education and referral."
The Healthcare Equality Index
"The Healthcare Equality Index (HEI) is a unique and invaluable resource for healthcare organizations seeking to provide equitable, inclusive care to LGBT Americans—and for LGBT Americans seeking healthcare organizations with a demonstrated commitment to their care. This free online survey, offered annually since 2007, has been widely praised for transforming LGBT healthcare nationwide."
Health & Well-being for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Americans (HSS.gov)
"HHS works to ensure that LGBT Americans, families, and communities receive equal access to health services by providing enhanced resources for LGBT health issues; developing better information regarding LGBT health needs; and working to close the LGBT health disparities gap that currently exists."
CDC: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health
Provides information for individuals, as well as source citations and other resources.
National LGBT Health Education Center
A program of the Fenway Institute, this organization offers some useful documents under the Publications section.
National Health Interview Survey: Sexual Orientation Information
"The purpose of this site is to describe the history of the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) sexual orientation questions and provide tools for accessing and using the data."

Sexual Health

Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis (HIV.gov)
"Pre-exposure prophylaxis (or PrEP) is when people at very high risk for HIV take HIV medicines daily to lower their chances of getting infected."
HIV Basics (CDC.gov)
Information on the transmission, prevention, and treatment of HIV, by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Mental Health

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender (APA.org)
Provides a list of resources by compiled by the American Psychological Association, including publications created by the APA (http://www.apa.org/pi/lgbt/resources/index.aspx)
NAMI: LGBTQ Information
The National Alliance on Mental Illness provides an overview of the mental health issues facing LGBT individuals, in addition to resources for finding LGBT-friendly care providers and support.
The Association of LGBTQ Psychiatrists
The ALGP is "a community of psychiatrists that educates and advocates on Lesbian Gay Bisexual and Transgender mental health issues." The organization publishes a scholarly journal on LGBTQ counseling and mental health.

Transgender Health

Creating Equal Access to Quality Health Care for Transgender Patients: Transgender-Affirming Hospital Policies
A publication by Lambda Legal, the Human Rights Campaign, Hogan Lovells, and the New York City Bar.
Lambda Legal Health Care Fairness Publications & Resources
Reports and articles on various issues dealing with equal access to health care by LGBT individuals.
Health & HIV
The National Center for Transgender Equality addresses many issues affecting the Transgender community, including health care. Their page on Health & HIV includes links to additional information and resources.
Center for Transgender Medicine and Surgery (Mount Sinai)
Many hospitals and medical facilities provide Gender Reassignment/Confirmation Surgery to Transgender individuals. Mount Sinai has a useful page on this topic, and outlines some of the various surgeries that comprise this transition.
Transgender FAQ: Equal Access to Healthcare (Lambda Legal)
A subset of a larger section on Transgender issues, the FAQ on healthcare addresses a number of common questions about gender dysphoria, surgery, etc.
Health considerations for gender non-conforming children and transgender adolescents (Center of Excellence for Transgender Health)
Organized through the University of California, San Francisco, the Center of Excellence for Transgender Health offers a wide range of useful resources, in addition to this excellent overview article.
National LGBT Task Force: Reports & Studies
Information on a variety of topics and issues.

Substance Abuse & Addiction

Gay and Bisexual Men's Health: Substance Abuse (CDC.gov)
"Alcohol and drug use among some gay and bisexual men can be a reaction to homophobia, discrimination, or violence they experienced due to their sexual orientation and can contribute to other mental health and physical problems. It can disrupt relationships, employment, and threaten financial stability."
Substance Use and SUDs in LGBT Populations
This relatively short entry on the NIH site offers references to supporting documents.
Preventing Substance Abuse Among LGBTQ Teens (HRC)
Provides a link to the full brief.

HIV/AIDS

HIV/AIDS and Employment Discrimination
Provides an overview of the rights of those living with HIV/AIDS, including the fact that they are protected under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).
Fighting Discrimination Against People with HIV/AIDS
"The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) gives Federal civil rights protections to individuals with disabilities similar to those provided to individuals on the basis of race, color, sex, national origin, age, and religion. It guarantees equal opportunity for individuals with disabilities in public accommodations, employment, transportation, State and local government services, and telecommunications."
Lambda Legal HIV Publications & Resources
Reports and articles on various issues dealing with discrimination against individuals with HIV/AIDS.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Resources (SAMHSA)
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA.gov) has compiled information for LGBT individuals under the Behavioral Health Equity section. These include reports, initiatives, and related resources

Sexual Identity

Coming Out to Your Doctor (HRC)
A short article with recommendations for those coming out to their health care providers.

LGBT Elders

LGBT Elder Initiative
"The LGBTEI is dedicated to building bridges between Aging and LGBT service and community organizations and consumers through advocacy, information, education and referral."
National Resource Center on LGBT Aging: Health
Identifies the health-related issues of older LGBT individuals.
SAGE Advocacy & Services for LGBT Elders
An advocacy organization for LGBT Older Adults, addressing many issues, such as Health Care and Reform, Elder Abuse, Social Isolation, among others.

LGBT Youth

Youth.gov: LGBT
This topic page provides an overview of the issues affecting LGBT youth, and includes links to resources and publications on this topic.
GLSEN: Research
"GLSEN [(The Gay, Lesbian, and Straight Education Network)] has been conducting research and evaluation on LGBT issues in K-12 education since 1999. Our research staff members are nationally-recognized experts, trusted by safe schools advocates and researchers alike to provide the facts about what’s really going on in U.S. schools. "

LGBT People of Color

Health Equity and LGBT Elders of Color
"This brief explores 10 policy areas where health and wellness can be improved for LGBT older people of color. "
When Health Care Isn’t Caring: LGBT People of Color and People of Color Living with HIV
Presents the results of Lambda Legal's Health Care Fairness Survey, examining the "experiences with refusal of care and barriers to health care access among LGBT and HIV communities on a national scale."
Paying an Unfair Price: The Financial Penalty for LGBT People of Color
"Paying an Unfair Price: The Financial Penalty for LGBT People of Color documents how systemic failures to protect some students, recognize diverse families, and protect people from discrimination drive and trap LGBT people of color into a devastating cycle of poverty."
Center for Black Equity
The Center for Black Equity has limited research, but includes a Health Equity section (under News & Views) with current events related to LGBT People of Color.
National Black Justice Coalition
"The National Black Justice Coalition (NBJC) is a civil rights organization dedicated to the empowerment of Black lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and same gender loving (LGBTQ/SGL) people, including people living with HIV/AIDS." Their site offers links to major issues and a Resources section with useful reports.
Diverse Elders Coalition
"Founded in 2010, the Diverse Elders Coalition (DEC) advocates for policies and programs that improve aging in our communities as racially and ethnically diverse people; American Indians and Alaska Natives; and lesbian, gay, bisexual and/or transgender (LGBT) people." Their Library section includes various reports and resources for learning more.

Religion

While many religions accept and even embrace their LGBT members, religion-based discrimination can be a major concern for LGBT individuals.

Muslims for Progressive Values: Resources
This page includes links to organizations and resources dealing with Islam and the LGBT community.

LGBT Reproductive Rights

Queering Reproductive Justice: A Toolkit
Developed by the National LGBTQ Task Force, this publication highlights the issues related to reproductive rights of LGBT individuals.

Reports

Sexual Identity, Sex of Sexual Contacts, and Health-Related Behaviors Among Students in Grades 9–12 — United States and Selected Sites, 2015
Centers for Disease Control report on the health issues affecting LGBT youth.
NIH FY 2016-2020 Strategic Plan to Advance Research on the Health and Well-being of Sexual and Gender Minorities
"The NIH SGM Strategic Plan promotes and supports the advancement of basic, clinical, and behavioral and social sciences research to improve the health of people whose sexual orientations, gender identities/expressions, and/or reproductive development vary from traditional, societal, cultural, or physiological norms. In each of these areas, NIH will coordinate with NIH intramural and extramural program directors and researchers to ensure the advancement of SGM-focused research efforts."
GLSEN: 2015 National School Climate Survey
A report produced by the Gay, Lesbian & Straight Education Network (GLSEN) that identifies the issues facing LGBT youth.
HRC: Healthcare Equality Index 2018
The Human Rights Campaign publishes an annual report on healthcare facilities who have been noted for 'equitable and inclusive care' of LGBT patients and their loved ones. Previous years are available at The Healthcare Equality Index.
Improving the Lives of Transgender Older Adults: Full Report
"Transgender older adults face profound challenges and experience striking disparities in areas such as health and health care access, physical and mental health, employment, housing and more. Research and experience also reveal that many transgender elders routinely encounter both a health care system and a national aging network that are ill-prepared to provide culturally competent care and services and create residential environments that affirm the gender identities and expressions of transgender older people."
Ready, Set, Go! Guidelines and Tips For Collecting Patient Data on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity (SO/GI)
"This guide is designed to help your health center successfully collect SO/GI data, no matter where you are in the process. For those just beginning, the guide can be used from start to finish. If you have already created a system, but have encountered challenges and questions, this guide can help you address them. Even if your system is working smoothly, you will find resources and recommendations here that will help you move to the next level of data collection and analysis."
LGBT Aging: A Review of Research Findings, Needs, and Policy Implications
"This report is a review of existing literature of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) older adults and provides recommendations for future research and policy needs. "
Understanding the Health Needs of LGBT People
A report by the National LGBT Health Education Center.
A Provider's Introduction to Substance Abuse Treatment for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Individuals
Created by the Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (SAMHSA), this guide provides an overview of the topic, as well as recommendations for successfully working with LGBT individuals suffering from addiction.
Top Health Issues for LGBT Populations: Information & Resource Kit (SAMHSA.gov)
Somewhat dated, this report provides an overview of some of the issues facing LGBT individuals.