LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): History

HIST 1030: Foundations of Civlization / HIST 1040: The Early Modern World

World History: Cultures, States, and Societies to 1500 by Eugene Berger, George L. Israel, Charlotte Miller, Brian Parkinson, Andrew Reeves, and Nadejda Williams
Call Number: [ E-BOOK ]
ISBN: 9781940771106
Publication Date: 2016
World History: Cultures, States, and Societies to 1500 offers a comprehensive introduction to the history of humankind from prehistory to 1500. Authored by six USG faculty members with advance degrees in History, this textbook offers up-to-date original scholarship. It covers such cultures, states, and societies as Ancient Mesopotamia, Ancient Israel, Dynastic Egypt, India's Classical Age, the Dynasties of China, Archaic Greece, the Roman Empire, Islam, Medieval Africa, the Americas, and the Khanates of Central Asia.It includes 350 high-quality images and maps, chronologies, and learning questions to help guide student learning. Its digital nature allows students to follow links to applicable sources and videos, expanding their educational experience beyond the textbook. It provides a new and free alternative to traditional textbooks, making World History an invaluable resource in our modern age of technology and advancement. [Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License - CC BY-SA]
World History to 1700 by Rene L. M. Paredes (West Hills College Lemoore) and Lumen Learning
Call Number: [ E-BOOK ]
Publication Date: 2021
[Creative Commons Attribution License - CC BY]
World History Volume 1, To 1500 by Ann Kordas; Ryan Lynch; Brooke Nelson; Julie Tatlock (Senior Contributing Authors)
Call Number: [ E-BOOK ]
ISBN: 9781951693671
Publication Date: 2023-04-19
World History, Volume 1: to 1500 is designed to meet the scope and sequence of a world history course to 1500 offered at both two-year and four-year institutions. Suitable for both majors and non majors World History, Volume 1: to 1500 introduces students to a global perspective of history couched in an engaging narrative. Concepts and assessments help students think critically about the issues they encounter so they can broaden their perspective of global history. A special effort has been made to introduce and juxtapose people’s experiences of history for a rich and nuanced discussion. Primary source material represents the cultures being discussed from a firsthand perspective whenever possible. World History, Volume 1: to 1500 also includes the work of diverse and underrepresented scholars to ensure a full range of perspectives. [Creative Commons Attribution License - CC BY]

HIST 1050: The Modern World

Modern World History by Dan Allosso (Bemidji State University) and Tom Williford (Southwest Minnesota State University)
Call Number: [ E-BOOK ]
Publication Date: 2021
Modern World History is the textbook for an undergraduate survey course taught at all the universities and most of the colleges in the Minnesota State system. It covers topics in global political, economic, and social history with a focus on the period from the 16th century to the present. [Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike License - CC BY-NC-SA]
World History, Volume 2: From 1400 by Ann Kordas, Ryan J. Lynch, Brooke Nelson, and Julie Tatlock (Senior Contributing Authors)
Call Number: [ E-BOOK ]
ISBN: 9781951693626
Publication Date: 2022-11-30
World History, Volume 2: from 1400 is designed to meet the scope and sequence of a world history course from 1400 offered at both two-year and four-year institutions. Suitable for both majors and non majors World History, Volume 2: from 1400 introduces students to a global perspective of history couched in an engaging narrative. Concepts and assessments help students think critically about the issues they encounter so they can broaden their perspective of global history. A special effort has been made to introduce and juxtapose people’s experiences of history for a rich and nuanced discussion. Primary source material represents the cultures being discussed from a firsthand perspective whenever possible. World History, Volume 2: from 1400 also includes the work of diverse and underrepresented scholars to ensure a full range of perspectives. [Creative Commons Attribution License - CC BY]

HIST 2050: United States History Through Reconstruction

The American Yawp, Volume I: To 1877 by Joseph Locke (University of Houston-Victoria) and Ben Wright (University of Texas at Dallas), Editors
Call Number: [ E-BOOK ]
ISBN: 9781503608139
Publication Date: 2019
The American Yawp offers a free and online, collaboratively built, open American history textbook designed for college-level history courses. All contributors — experienced college-level instructors — volunteer their expertise to help democratize the American past for twenty-first century classrooms. The book includes a primary source reader. [Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License - CC BY-SA]
History in the Making: A History of the People of the United States of America to 1877 by Catherine Locks (Fort Valley State University), Sarah K. Mergel (Dalton State College), Pamela Thomas Roseman (Georgia Perimeter College), and Tamara Spike (University of North Georgia)
Call Number: [ E-BOOK ]
ISBN: 9780988223738
Publication Date: 2013-03-15
This textbook examines U.S. History from before European Contact through Reconstruction, while focusing on the people and their history. Prior to its publication, History in the Making underwent a rigorous double blind peer review, a process that involved over thirty scholars who reviewed the materially carefully, objectively, and candidly in order to ensure not only its scholarly integrity but also its high standard of quality. This book provides a strong emphasis on critical thinking about US History by providing several key features in each chapter. Learning Objectives at the beginning of each chapter help students to understand what they will learn in each chapter. Before You Move On sections at the end of each main section are designed to encourage students to reflect on important concepts and test their knowledge as they read. In addition, each chapter includes Critical Thinking Exercises that ask the student to deeply explore chapter content, Key Terms, and a Chronology of events. [Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License - CC BY-SA]
U. S. History by P. Scott Corbett (Ventura College), Jay Precht (Pennsylvania State University, Fayette), Volker Janssen (California State University-Fullerton), John M. Lund, Keene (Keene State College), Todd Pfannestiel (Clarion University), and Paul Vickery (Oral Roberts University)
Call Number: [ E-BOOK ]
ISBN: 9781938168369
Publication Date: 2014-12-03
U.S. History covers the breadth of the chronological history of the United States and also provides the necessary depth to ensure the course is manageable for instructors and students alike. U.S. History is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of most courses. The authors introduce key forces and major developments that together form the American experience, with particular attention paid to considering issues of race, class, and gender. The text provides a balanced approach to U.S. history, considering the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States from both the top down (politics, economics, diplomacy) and bottom up (eyewitness accounts, lived experience). [Creative Commons Attribution License - CC BY]

Digital History
The Digital History website was designed and developed to support the teaching of American History in K-12 schools and colleges and is supported by the College of Education at the University of Houston. The materials available include a U.S. history textbook; over 400 annotated documents from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, supplemented by primary sources on slavery, Mexican American, Asian American, and Native American history, and U.S. political, social, and legal history; succinct essays on the history of film, ethnicity, private life, and technology; multmedia exhibitions; and reference resources that include a database of annotated links, classroom handouts, chronologies, glossaries, an audio archive including speeches and book talks by historians, and a visual archive with hundreds of historical maps and images. The website offers a variety of ways for students and teachers to actually do history, including 72 inquiry-based interactive modules called "eXplorations." These modules provide extensive primary sources on such topics as Mexican, Tejano, and Texian perspectives on the battle of the Alamo; Franklin D. Roosevelt's decision to relocate Japanese Americans during World War II and the Lyndon B. Johnson's decision to escalate American involvement in the Vietnam War in 1964 and 1965; and children's perspectives on slavery, westward migration, and World War II. [Copyright-protected, but free to use]

HIST 2060: United States History Since Reconstruction

The American Yawp, Volume II: Since 1877 by Joseph Locke (University of Houston-Victoria) and Ben Wright (University of Texas at Dallas), Editors
Call Number: [ E-BOOK ]
ISBN: 9781503608146
Publication Date: 2019
The American Yawp offers a free and online, collaboratively built, open American history textbook designed for college-level history courses. All contributors — experienced college-level instructors — volunteer their expertise to help democratize the American past for twenty-first century classrooms. The book includes a primary source reader. [Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License - CC BY-SA]
US History II by Pima Community College
Call Number: [ E-BOOK ]
Publication Date: 2021
U.S. History II covers the chronological history of the United States from Reconstruction through the beginning of the 21st Century and introduces key forces and major developments that together form the U.S. experience, providing a balanced approach that considers the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States from both the top down (politics, economics, diplomacy) and bottom up (eyewitness accounts, lived experience), with particular attention paid to issues of race, class, and gender. [Creative Commons Attribution License - CC BY]