Open Educational Resources (OER): Accounting and Law

This book is intended for an undergraduate or MBA level Financial Accounting course. It covers the standard topics in a standard sequence, utilizing the Socratic method of asking and answering questions. (Creative Commons License: Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike / CC BY-NC-SA)

The University of North Georgia Press and Affordable Learning Georgia bring you Principles of Financial Accounting, a contribution to open source pedagogy in the business education world. Written in order to directly meet the needs of her students, this textbook was developed from Dr. Christine Jonick’s years of teaching and commitment to effective pedagogy. It includes over 100 charts and graphs, Instructional exercises appearing both in-text and for Excel, and resources for student professional development. Ancillary materials are available by contacting the author or publisher. (Creative Commons License: Attribution-ShareAlike / CC BY-SA)

This textbook is an adaptation by D. Marchand and Athabasca University of the original text written by D. Annand and H. Dauderis. It is intended for use in entry-level college and university courses in financial accounting. A corporate approach is utilized consistently throughout the book. The adapted textbook includes multiple ancillary student and instructor resources. Student aids include solutions to all end-of-chapter questions and problems, and randomly-generated spreadsheet problems that cover key concepts of each chapter. These provide unlimited practice and feedback for students. Instructor aids include an exam bank, lecture slides, and a comprehensive end-of-term case assignment. This requires students to prepare 18 different year-end adjusting entries and all four types of financial statements, and to calculate and analyze 16 different financial statement ratios. Unique versions can be created for any number of individual students or groups. Tailored solutions are provided for instructors. (Creative Commons License: Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike / CC BY-NC-SA)

Principles of Accounting is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a two-semester accounting course that covers the fundamentals of financial and managerial accounting. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in two volumes. This book is specifically designed to appeal to both accounting and non-accounting majors, exposing students to the core concepts of accounting in familiar ways to build a strong foundation that can be applied across business fields. Each chapter opens with a relatable real-life scenario for today’s college student. Thoughtfully designed examples are presented throughout each chapter, allowing students to build on emerging accounting knowledge. Concepts are further reinforced through applicable connections to more detailed business processes. Students are immersed in the “why” as well as the “how” aspects of accounting in order to reinforce concepts and promote comprehension over rote memorization. (Creative Commons License: Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike / CC BY-NC-SA)

Principles of Accounting is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a two-semester accounting course that covers the fundamentals of financial and managerial accounting. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in two volumes. This book is specifically designed to appeal to both accounting and non-accounting majors, exposing students to the core concepts of accounting in familiar ways to build a strong foundation that can be applied across business fields. Each chapter opens with a relatable real-life scenario for today’s college student. Thoughtfully designed examples are presented throughout each chapter, allowing students to build on emerging accounting knowledge. Concepts are further reinforced through applicable connections to more detailed business processes. Students are immersed in the “why” as well as the “how” aspects of accounting in order to reinforce concepts and promote comprehension over rote memorization. (Creative Commons License: Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike / CC BY-NC-SA)

Managerial Accounting was written around three major themes: Ready, Reinforcement and Relevance. This book is aimed squarely at the new learning styles evident with today's students and addresses accounting industry changes as well. The book also contains a handful of other pedagogical aids to compliment your lectures and help your students come to class prepared. From a focus on decision-making, to end of chapter materials that can only be characterized as very deep and very wide, to ethics coverage, group projects and spreadsheet applications - these features allow you to teach the course you want to teach and assign the materials you like to assign. (Creative Commons License: Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike / CC BY-NC-SA)

Foundations of Business Law and the Legal Environment is an up-to-date textbook with comprehensive coverage of legal and regulatory issues for your introductory Legal Environment or Business Law course. The text is organized to permit instructors to tailor the materials to their particular approach. The authors take special care to engage students by relating law to everyday events with which they are already familiar with their clear, concise and readable style. Business Law and the Legal Environment provides students with context and essential concepts across a broad range of legal issues with which managers and business executives must grapple. The text provides the vocabulary and legal savvy necessary for business people to talk in an educated way to their customers, employees, suppliers, government officials - and to their own lawyers. (Creative Commons License: Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike / CC BY-NC-SA)

Business Law I Essentials is a brief introductory textbook designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of courses on Business Law or the Legal Environment of Business. The concepts are presented in a streamlined manner, and cover the key concepts necessary to establish a strong foundation in the subject. The textbook follows a traditional approach to the study of business law. Each chapter contains learning objectives, explanatory narrative and concepts, references for further reading, and end-of-chapter questions. Business Law I Essentials may need to be supplemented with additional content, cases, or related materials, and is offered as a foundational resource that focuses on the baseline concepts, issues, and approaches. (Creative Commons License: Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike / CC BY-NC-SA)

Undergraduate business law textbook written by Melissa Randall and Community College of Denver students in collaboration with lawyers and business professionals for use in required 200 level business law courses in the United States. This book is an introductory survey of the legal topics required in undergraduate business law classes. (Creative Commons License: Attribution / CC BY)