Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Reference Articles on Student Movements from Credo Reference
Reccent Titles on the History of Student Movements
To search for more titles in the Library Catalog, try a search using the term "Student movements United States."
Selected Web Resources
1968: Columbia in Crisis
The occupation of five buildings in April 1968 marked a sea change in the relationships among Columbia University administration, its faculty, its student body, and its neighbors. Featuring documents, photographs, and audio from the University Archives, 1968: Columbia in Crisis examines the the causes, actions, and aftermath of a protest that captivated the campus, the nation, and the world.
Freedom Summer Digital Collection (Wisconsin Historical Society)
The Freedom Summer Digital Collection contains over 30,000 pages of official records of organizations, personal papers of Movement leaders, letters, racist propaganda, diaries, images, and newsletters documenting the Mississippi Freedom Summer Project of 1964. Featured collections include the Amzie Moore papers, Ella Baker papers, Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party papers, and more.
Free Speech Movement Digital Archive
The Free Speech Movement Digital Archives document the role of Mario Savio and other participants in the Free Speech Movement (University of California, Berkeley, September-December 1964), as well as its origins in political protest and civil rights movements and its legacy of political activism and educational reform that can be traced throughout the country and the world down to the present.
SNCC (Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee) Documents
A collection of documents produced by the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee between 1960 and 1968, hosted by the Civil Rights Movement Veterans website.
SNCC History and Geography (Mapping American Social Movements, University of Washington)
This site profiles the history and geography of SNCC with (1) interactive maps, charts, and lists that show more than 500 SNCC sit-ins, boycotts, and other actions from 1960 to 1970, (2) a yearbook/database of SNCC actions, and (3) a brief year-by-year history.
Student Movements of the 1960s (from the New Georgia Encyclopedia)
Encyclopedia article about the increase student activism on Georgia college campuses and in Georgia cities during the 1960s.Opposed to U.S. political leadership and dissatisfied with American culture, student activists held demonstrations across the state and experimented with lifestyle changes in the hope of effecting fundamental change in American life.
Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee
A collection of items produced by the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, digitized as part of the Civil Rights Digital Library.
Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) Series, 1960-1961
A collection of 20 photographs taken by 20th century American photojournalist James Karales. Part of the Duke University Libraries Digital Repository.
Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee Legacy Project
The Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee Legacy Project was begun to preserve and extend SNCC's legacy. The project is archiving SNCC documents digitally to make them easily available for use; encouraging and assisting in the development of books and other media by SNCC veterans with the idea of having the stories and interpretation of SNCC's work told by its veterans; developing with colleges and universities a program of SNCC visiting professors and scholars who would in formal and informal ways interact with young people on campuses and take advantage of campus resources to begin telling the story as it should be told; and seeking quality public education as a constitutional right.
Student Protest (Amistad Digital Resource)
A section of the Amistad Digital Resource pertaining to student protests, including selected primary source documents.
Students for a Democratic Society (from The Freedom Archives)
Eleven digitized items from Students for a Democratic Society, hosted by The Freedom Archives.
Students For a Democratic Society Digital Collection
Selected digitized items from the Michigan State University Libraries.
Students for a Democratic Society Records
A large collection of Students for a Democratic Society records hosted by the Kent State University Libraries.