Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (via GPO Access)
- The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is the finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. These publications make up the National Bibliography of U.S. Government Publications. The CGP contains descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. More than 500,000 records generated since July 1976 are contained in the CGP and it is updated daily. The catalog will grow to include records for publications dating back to the late 1800s, making the CGP the central point for locating new and historical Government publications.
- Foreign Relations of the United States (Archive 1861-1960 via University of Wisconsin Digital Collections) and Foreign Relations of the United States (Volumes from the Truman through Nixon-Ford Administrations Hosted by the U.S. Department of State)
- The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. The series is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian and printed volumes are available from the Government Printing Office.
- Government Information on the Internet, Sixth Edition / Edited by Peffy Garvin. - Lanham, Md.: Bernan Press, 2003. - v. ; 24 cm. - Call Number: REF ZA5075.N68
- A one-volume guide to almost 5,000 sites arranged in topical chapters. Each site entry contains the following categories of information: sponsoring agency, primary and secondary URL addresses, summary of site content and notable features and strengths, subject headings, and SuDoc classification numbers. An easy-to-use resource for looking up government information online. [Choice]
- United States Government Documents on Women, 1800-1990: A Comprehensive Bibliography / Mary Ellen Huls. - Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1993. - 2 v. ; 23 cm; Includes bibliographical references and indexes.; v. 1. Social issues -- v. 2 Labor. - Call Number: REF Z7964.U49H85
- These two volumes list some 7,000 government publications on women, both those that are factual and those that present governmment policies and perceptions. Executive and congressional publications predominate; technical reports, ERIC studies, article reprints, and federal court cases are excluded. Volume 1 treats social issues in 21 chapters, volume 2 treats labor in 20; some publications on labor appear in volume 1 as well. Topics range from general issues to politics, education, health, and family. Each chapter begins with a brief historical essay defining the issue and highlighting significant publications. The entries themselves, in chronological order in each chapter, include a complete citation (including corporate or personal author, Superintendent of Documents number or Serial Set number) and a brief abstract. [Choice]
- Using Government Information Sources: Electronic and Print, Third Edition / by Jean L. Sears and Marilyn K. Moody. - Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press, 2001. - 536 p. : ill.; 29 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF J83.S43
- This very useful guide to using government information covers subject areas, agencies, statistical sources, and special techniques for such tasks as constructing legislative histories and analyzing budgets. A large number of official government Web sites, some unofficial sites, and online commercial tools are included, with Web page title, URL, and sample screen shots of typical pages. [Choice]
Church Committee Reports (Mary Ferrell Foundation)
The United States Senate Select Committee to Study Governmental Operations with Respect to Intelligence Activities, which was chaired by Idaho Senator Frank Church in 1975, conducted investigations into abuses by the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), National Security Agency (NSA), Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). It issued 14 reports on its investigations between 1975 and 1976, collected on this website. These 14 published reports contain a wealth of information on the formation, operation, and abuses of U.S. intelligence agencies. Following their publication, the Committee's recommendations for reform were debated in the Congress and in some cases carried out. The Interim Report documents the Church Committee's findings on U.S. involvement in attempts to assassinate foreign leaders, particularly Patrice Lumumba of the Congo, Cuba's Fidel Castro, Rafael Trujillo of the Dominican Republic, the Diem brothers of Vietnam, and General Rene Schneider of Chile. It also contains findings on the development of a general "Executive Action" capability by the CIA. The remaining reports are split into seven volumes of public hearings and exhibits and six books which contain the Committee's writings on the various topics investigated. These 14 reports are the most extensive review of intelligence activities ever made public.
Warren Commission Report (National Archives)
The U.S. Commission to Report upon the Assassination of President John F. Kennedy, established (Nov. 29, 1963) by executive order of President Lyndon B. Johnson, was directed to evaluate all the evidence and present a complete report of the event to the American people. The proceedings began December 3, 1963, and the final report was delivered to the President on September 24, 1964. During its investigation the commission weighed the testimony of 552 witnesses and the reports of 10 federal agencies, most important of which were the Secret Service, the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Department of State, the Central Intelligence Agency, and military intelligence. The hearings were closed to the public unless the person giving testimony requested otherwise; only two witnesses made that request. The commission, in its findings, attempted to reconstruct the exact sequence of events of the assassination. Foremost among its conclusions was refutation of speculation that the assassination was part of a conspiracy, either domestic or foreign, or that any elements of the government had a hand in the event. The report maintained that Lee Harvey Oswald, acting alone and without accomplices, shot and killed the President and wounded Texas Governor John Connally from the sixth floor window of the Texas School Book Depository Building in Dallas on November 22, 1963. The full text of the Commission's report is provided at this site.
Report of the National Advisory Commission on Civil Disorders ("Kerner Commission Report")
The National Advisory Commission on Civil Disorders, known as the Kerner Commission after its chair, Governor Otto Kerner, Jr. of Illinois, was an 11-member commission established by President Lyndon B. Johnson in Executive Order 11365 to investigate the causes of the 1967 race riots in the United States and to provide recommendations for the future. The Commission's final report, the Report of the National Advisory Commission on Civil Disorders or Kerner Report was released on February 29, 1968 after seven months of investigation.