Where can I find information on the GDP of various countries?
The World Development Indicators (from the World Bank) has this information. The World Development Indicators are available under the international statistics tab in your International Economics 3700 library guide.
- You can choose the information either by country or by topic.
- This site has information by country and has information not only on GDP but other indicators like exports of goods and services, foreign direct investment, inflation, life expectancy etc.
Where can I find the amount of imports and exports of various countries?
The World Development Indicator has this information. The World Development Indicator is available under the international statistics tab in your International Economics 3700 library guide.
- You can choose the information either by country or by topic.
- If you need product level information for exports and imports, you can use the UNCTAD database. The UNCTAD database is available under the international statistics tab in your International Economics 3700 library guide.
- For example, if you need the value of exports of automobile products, you can use the UNCTAD site.
- In the UNCTAD site, under the ‘catalogue of indicators’ you will find the link for ‘international trade’. That link will take you to the database where you can find export and import data by selecting countries, years and products.
Where can I find the value of exports of automobile products for the US?
If you need product level information for exports and imports, you can use the UNCTAD database. The UNCTAD database is available under the international statistics tab in your International Economics 3700 library guide.
- For example, if you need the value of exports of automobile products, you can use the UNCTAD site.
- In the UNCTAD site, under the ‘catalogue of indicators’ you will find the link for ‘international trade’. That link will take you to the database where you can find export and import data by selecting countries, years and products.
How can I find out the amount of tariff on sugar in the US?
You can get information of tariff by industry for various countries for any years in the Trade Analysis and Information System/World Integrated Trade Solution (TRAINS/WITS) database.
- The TRAINS/WITS database is part of the World Bank database and can be found under the World Bank section under the international statistics tab in your International Economics 3700 library guide.
- You can choose the tariff index by country on this site.
- If you need industry level tariff data, you will have to log into this site and get the data.
- Creating a login is free and easy.
I need to find the preferential trade agreements that China is part of? Where can I get this information?
To get information on any preferential or free trade agreement you can use the Global Preferential Trade Agreements Database (GPTAD) database under World Banks WITS database.
- The GPTAD database is part of the World Bank database and can be found under the international statistics tab in your International Economics 3700 library guide.
- You can choose by type of agreement and you can choose by the agreements (for instance NAFTA or ASEAN or just by country sets). The site gives you many details of the agreements including whether it is enforced currently.
I need to find the amount of Foreign Direct Investment that Mexico received in the last five years. Where can I find that information?
The World Development Indicators has this information. The World Bank Development Indicator is available under the international statistics tab in your International Economics 3700 library guide.
- You can choose the information either by country or by topic.
- You can also use the UNCTAD database. The UNCTAD database is available under the international statistics tab in your International Economics 3700 library guide.
- In the UNCTAD site, under the ‘catalogue of indicators’ you will find the link for ‘Foreign Direct Investment. That link will take you to the database where you can find export and import data by selecting countries, years and products.
I need information on trade in services? Which website provides that information?
The World Development Indicators has this information. The World Development Indicators is available under the international statistics tab in your International Economics 3700 library guide.
- Choose by indicator and look for “Trade in Services”
How can I find the amount of trade between China and Japan?
- In the UNCTAD database, select "International trade" from the Catalogue of Indicators menu on the right side of the screen - a new "Data Center" screen will open
- On the "Data Center" screen, select the folder labeled "Trade structure by partner, product or service-category"
- Seven "Report" files will be displayed on the screen. For bilateral trade data, the most important files are those labeled:
- Merchandise: Trade matrix by products, exports in thousands of dollars, annual, 1995-2014
- Merchandise: Trade matrix by products, imports in thousands of dollars, annual, 1995-2014
- Merchandise: Trade matrix by product groups, exports in thousands of dollars, annual, 1995-2014
- Merchandise: Trade matrix by product groups, imports in thousands of dollars, annual, 1995-2014
- As an example, select the file labeled "Merchandise: Trade matrix by products, exports in thousands of dollars, annual, 1995-2014." By default, the value of trade by product category for all countries is listed. To obtain the export data from China to Japan by product category and year, you must limit the data displayed to the exporting country (labeled "ECONOMY") and the destination country (labeled "PARTNER"). Follow these steps:
- Select the link labeled "ECONOMY" and clear all the checkmarks. Then, from the "Individual economies" list, select China and click the button labeled "Show selected"
- Select the link labeled "PARTNER" and clear all the checkmarks. Then, from the "Individual economies" list, select Japan and click the button labeled "Show selected"
- Click on the link labeled "Show table" to display the annual value of exports from China to Japan for the period from 1995 through 2014
How can I get the Simple Average (%), Weighted Average (%), and Maximum Rate (%) tariffs for Canada?
