Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST4200: Politics and Social Movements Since 1945: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Resource guide for a senior-level history seminar focusing on politics and social movements in diverse societies during the Cold War.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Credo Reference's Academic Core
The Credo Reference database is a portal to over 630 full-text reference titles from over 80 major publishers. Easy to search and browse, the Credo platform provides access to text, images, maps, statistics, and graphic concept maps to illustrate connections among and between topics. This is a very useful starting point for any specific topic related to the end of the Cold War era.


The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Russia and the Former Soviet Union, 2nd ed. / edited by Archie Brown, Michael Kaser and Gerald S. Smith ; associate editor, Patricia Brown ; [consultant editor, art and architecture, John. E. Bowlt]. - Cambridge [Cambridgeshire]; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1994. - xi, 604 p. : ill. (some col.) ; 29 cm. - Maps on lining papers. - Includes bibliographical references (p. 570-579) and index. - Call Number: REF DK14.C35
'This one-volume reference provides essays covering the physical environment, the peoples, history, art and architecture, language and literature, cultural life, the sciences, politics, the economy, society, military power, and international relations.


The Cold War, 1945-1991 / ed. by Benjamin Frankel, - Detroit: Gale Research, 1992. - 3 v. : ill. ; 29 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and indexes. - Call Number: REF D839.5.C65
A major reference work on the Cold War years, these three volumes include "lengthy analytical biographies of 283 important world political and military leaders from the last half of the 20th century. Volume 1 focuses on the US and Europe. Volume 2 covers the USSR, China, communist East Europe and Asia, and the Third World; and Volume 3 includes a 120-page narrative history of the Cold War, a chronology, a glossary, a list of manuscript and oral history collections, and a bibliography of additional research sources" [Choice]. Global in scope.


Companion to Russian History / by John Paxton. - New York, N.Y.: Facts on File Publications, 1983. - xi, 503 p. : ill. ; 24 cm. - Bibliography: p. 469-475. - Call Number: REF DK36.P39
One-volume historical dictionary contains over 2,500 entries spanning Russian history from the 10th century to the end of the Khrushchev era.


Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000 / Peter N. Stearns, editor-in-chief. - New York: Scribner, 2001. - 6 v. : ill. ; 28 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index (v. 6). - Call Number: REF HN373.E63
Covering the period from the beginning of the Renaissance to the present, this six-volume encyclopedia consists of 209 signed articles and nearly 300 biographical entries. The set is thoroughly indexed and amply illustrated.


The Encyclopedia of the Cold War: A Political, Social, and Military History / ed. by Spencer Tucker with Priscilla Roberts et al., - Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2008. - 5 v. (xxxviii, 1969 p.) : ill., maps ; 29 cm. - Includes bibliographical references (p. 1517-1523) and index. - Call Number: REF D840.E63
This five-volume encyclopedia features 1,290 entries by over 200 contributors. It also includes 350 pictures and illustrations, maps, and over 170 select full-text primary source documents in the final volume. A major reference for Cold War history up through its end.


Encyclopedia of World History / Marsha E. Ackermann, et al., - New York: Facts on File, 2008. - 7 v. : ill. ; 28 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index (v. 6). - Call Number: REF D21.E5775
The 6th volume of this set, "The Contemporary World, 1950 to the Present," covers the Cold War and post-Cold War era with a large collection of entries, a useful introductory essay highlighting major global themes, a chronology, and a collection of maps illustrating the period's major events in geographical terms.


An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Conflict and Conflict Resolution, 1945-1996 / John E. Jessup. - Westport: Greenwood Press, 1998. - x, 887 p. ; 25 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF D842.J47
A one-volume reference providing "alphabetical coverage of people, places, events, and institutions related to all manner of conflicts from the close of World War II to the mid-1990s," [Choice] including the conflicts and upheavals marking the close of the Cold War era.


Europe since 1945: An Encyclopedia / ed. by Bernard A. Cook, - New York: Garland, 2001. - 2 v. (1400 p.) : ill., maps ; 26 cm. - Call Number: REF D840.E98
Two-volume reference covers a wide variety of topics in Europe's Cold War and post-Cold War era.


The International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest: 1500 to the Present / ed. by Immanuel Ness. - Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2009. - 8 v. : ill., maps ; 26 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF JC491.I58
This eight-volume reference work provides "a comprehensive examination of modern-era revolutions, uprisings, and protests, with special attention to the important contributions of the subjugated, disenfranchised, and ideologically motivated people behind these actions. Entries generally range from three to six pages and encompass ideologies, activists, and major historical events. This work's strength is in its coverage of non-Western revolutionary movements and its attention to radical organizations that more traditional works sometimes gloss over" [Choice].


The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements / Edited by David A. Snow, Donatella Della Porta, Bert Klandermans, and Doug McAdam. - Malden, MA : Wiley, 2013. - 3 v. ; 26 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF HM881.W553
This encyclopedia aims to provide broad-based coverage of major social and political movements throughout history. To ensure worldwide coverage, the main editors carefully chose advisory editors with special knowledge of certain regional movements. Beginning with "Abeyance" and moving across three volumes through "Zionist Movement," this set covers major political perspectives, concepts, and movements. The highlight of the work is the lexicon found at the front of the first volume. It categorizes all of the contents into 21 topics. This will allow researchers to easily become familiar with a specific area of social and political movements. Another key feature is the time line, which lists influential events, figures, and publications in history as they relate to the subject matter of the encyclopedia. Each of the 400-plus articles is well written and includes references and suggested readings. [Choice]


World Conflicts and Confrontations / Charles F. Bahmueller, editor. - Pasadena: Salem Press, 2000. - 4 volumes (v - 1130 p) ill. ; 26 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF D860.W64
The four volumes of this reference work are organized by geographical region and feature 104 essays on individual nations and small groups of nations. The essays provide a context for understanding the sources and dimensions of contemporary conflict, with reference to both the Cold War and post-Cold War geopolitical environment, as well as other factors.


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website