Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Core Geography Databases
These databases are restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff. You can login to these databases from home 24/7 or on campus.
Academic Search Complete
This large, interdisciplinary full-text database includes academic journals, magazines, books, and trade publications. Publications from over 120 periodicals in the field of geography are available.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
This bibliographic index contains citations from a cross-section of social-science and natural science disciplines. In many cases, links in citations will lead to full-text articles.
Science and social sciences database with over 1,200 full-text journals. Over 250 social science journals are available, most with full-text.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Index to articles on topics in urban studies from over 190 periodicals, with links to full-text content where available.
Additional Geography Databases
Additional databases to consult for Georgraphy Research include:
General Search Tips
Database Searching Tips
· Select/switch to the advanced search option
- Do a keyword search first to see what is available
- Too many results? Add an additional term or two
- Too few results? Think of synonyms for your term(s)
- Many databases have a Thesaurus function
- Refine or limit your search to scholarly/peer reviewed articles
- All databases allow you to print or email your results
- Use the reference list from an article to locate additional sources
Creating Personal Folders in Databases
Many, if not all, of the library databases allow you to create accounts within the database to store your articles and searches for future reference.
When completing a search, you will often see options such as "Mark" or "Add to Folder" . If you decide to use this feature you will need to create an account in the database. The good news is that once you create an account in an EBSCO database such as PsycInfo, you can add items from any of their databases using the same username and password. The same holds true for the ProQuest databases.
Saving your citations/articles within the database also allows you to export them into RefWorks all at the same time.