Skip to main content

HIST4800: The World Since 1945: Biographical Resources

Library resources to support the course HIST 4800: The World Since 1945, with an emphasis on the "1989" research paper assignment about democratic revolutions at the end of the Cold War.

Biographical Resources

Biography Reference Bank
This full-text database contains thousands of full-text biographical essays for historical and contemporary figures, drawn from a wide variety of published sources. The essays vary in length and quality, but most include substantial detail and a selected bibliography. Several entires also contain links to related resources (e.g., articles about the subject). Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


Dictionary of World Biography / Frank N. Magill, editor; Christina J. Moose, managing editor; Alison Aves, researcher and bibliographer. - Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers ; Pasadena : Salem Press, 1998- . - v. : ill. ; 29 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and indexes. - Call Number: REF CT104.D54
Volumes 5 through 9 of this series cover the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Individuals from throughout Europe are represented here, and the available essays are substantive, ranging in length from 2,000 to 3,000 words. Each biographical sketch concludes with an overview of the person's place in history and a selective annotated bibliography.


Oxford Dictionary of National Biography: In Association with the British Academy: From the Earliest Times to the Year 2000 / edited by H.C.G. Matthew and Brian Harrison. - New York: Oxford University Press, 2004. - 61 v. : ill. ; 26 cm. - Call Number: REF DA28.O95
A 60-volume collection of more than 57,000 high-quality, specially written biographies, which describe the lives of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond from the 4th century BC to the 21st century.


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website