Skip to main content

HIST4800: The World Since 1945: Bibliographies / Guides to Historical Literature

Library resources to support the course HIST 4800: The World Since 1945, with an emphasis on the "1989" research paper assignment about democratic revolutions at the end of the Cold War.

Bibliographies and Guides to Historical Literature

The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature / general editor, Mary Beth Norton; associate editor, Pamela Gerardi. - New York : Oxford University Press, 1995. - 2 v. ; 27 cm. - Call Number: D20.A64
Though increasingly dated, this annotated bibliography is still an excellent starting point for student research in modern history topics. For topics in the history of modern Europe, which span both volumes, the individual country and region chapters usually include focused sections on cultural and intellectual history, making it easy to locate major works (through about 1992). Should be supplemented with a search in the Historical Abstracts database for more recent materials.


The Columbia Guide to the Cold War / Michael Kort. - New York: Columbia University Press, 1998. - xiv, 366 p. ; 24 cm. - Call Number: REF E744.K696
An excellent guide for any student developing a research paper on a Cold War topic, this volume offers "a basic survey of the historiography and major events of the Cold War, 1945-90, interspersed with brief discussions of common questions; brief encyclopedia-like articles including basic names and concepts; a chronology; and a well-annotated bibliography of English-language sources, complete and handily organized by topics arranged in rough chronology, and lists of archival and Web sources and of relevant films" [Choice].


The Columbia Guide to Modern Chinese History / R. Keith Schoppa. - New York: Columbia University Press, 2000. - xviii, 356 p. : ill., map ; 24 cm. - Includes bibliographical references (p. [215]-256) and index. - Call Number: REF DS755.S635
Defining "modern" as the period from 1780 forward, this guide is nevertheless quite useful for investigating topics and sources in Chinese history during the Cold War and post-Cold War era. It includes brief narrative surveys of Chinese history since 1780; a compilation of key events, terms, institutions, and figures; a well-organized 47-pages annotated bibliography that includes books, films, and internet sources; and a selection of primary source documents.


The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements / Edited by David A. Snow, Donatella Della Porta, Bert Klandermans, and Doug McAdam. - Malden, MA : Wiley, 2013. - v. ; 26 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF HM881 .W553
This three-volume encyclopedia provides "broad-based coverage of major social and political movements throughout history...[and] covers major political perspectives, concepts, and movements. Each of the 400-plus articles is well written and includes references and suggested readings." [Choice]


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website