Skip to main content

HIST4800: The World Since 1945: Databases for Secondary Sources

Library resources to support the course HIST 4800: The World Since 1945, with an emphasis on the "1989" research paper assignment about democratic revolutions at the end of the Cold War.

Databases for Secondary Sources

Historical Abstracts
Bibliographic database for modern world history - excluding the U.S. and Canada - covering the period from about 1450 forward. The most important resource to use when searching for scholarly articles on the history of modern Africa, Asia, Europe, Oceania, and South America. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


Academic Search Complete
Large, interdisciplinary full-text database contains over 8,500 full-text publications, including academic journals, magazines, books, and trade publications. Offers broad subject coverage for a variety of disciplines, including anthropology, area studies, biology, chemistry, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and many other fields. It is recommended you include the expression "SU History" when searching the database to obtain focused results. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


JSTOR
The JSTOR electronic journal archive includes full-text backfiles for several major scholarly journals in history, education, and sociology. The collection can be searched or browsed. From the openning screen, select appropriate subject collections from the list of disciplines before entering your search terms. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


PAIS International (with PAIS Archive)
The PAIS International database focuses on the literature of public and social policy, and it contains references to more than 1.7 million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International covers publications from over 120 countries. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central is a large multidisciplinary database indexing over 14,000 publications, the majority of them available in full text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, and more. The publications include over 6,500 scholarly journals, over 3,600 trade publications, over 2,000 magazines and newspapers, and over 800 industry reports, plus dissertations and theses, company annual reports, and videos. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
The Worldwide Political Science Abstracts database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international research literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Links are also provided to full-text content where it is available. Since 2000, development of the database has focused on expanding international coverage, and over half the titles now covered in the database are published outside the United States. Updated monthly, the database currently contains over 800,000 records. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website