French Colonial Legacies: Finding Journals

1. Try several databases to see which ones work best for your topic
2. Some topics should be searched in multiple databases to get the best results
3. Keep track of your citations when searching different databases by using a bibliographic management tool.
4. Usually if you find one good source, you can search for similar articles within most databases
5. Search Google Scholar from the library database list to be able to link to the ful-text of articles when available.
6. Having problems? Ask the Reference Librarian for assistance.

The best way to locate articles is to use databases. Here's a list of the best sources for researching French Colonial Legacies. To see the complete list of Library databases.

• Academic Search Complete (Interdisciplinary Database for all topics)
• America: History and Life (Canada and Louisiana)
• Historical Abstracts (Modern History other than US and Canada)
• History Reference Center
• jStor (Journal Archive, does not include most recent few years)
• Lexis-Nexis Academic  ( News source, inlcudes international news and some French language sources)
• MLA International Bibliography (Best source for literature)
• PAIS International (Public affairs and political science literature; includes articles, books and some foreign language titles)
• ProQuest Central (Interdisciplinary Database for all topics)

Unless your research involves using news accounts in magazines and news sources on recent events in francophone countries such as Haiti or Senegal, your best sources will be in avademic and scholarly journals. This tutorial will explain the differences between popular sources and journals.

https://libservices.wpunj.edu/library/Tutorials/schPop/schPop.html