Skip to main content

HIST4800: Modern European Cultural History: Web-Based Digital Collections

Resources for the study of modern European cultural history, 1848-Present

Web-Based Digital Collections

British History Online
British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, we aim to support academic and personal users around the world in their learning, teaching and research.

EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents From Western Europe - Selected Transcriptions, Facsimiles and Translations
Well-organized collection of links to Western European historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. The documents are not limited to modern European history. Maintained by Richard Hacken, European Studies Bibliographer, Harold B. Lee Library, Brigham Young University.

Europeana
Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage. The Europeana portal currently provides access to more than 15 million items. These objects include: Images - paintings, drawings, maps, photos and pictures of museum objects; Texts - books, newspapers, letters, diaries and archival papers; Sounds - music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts; and Videos - films, newsreels and TV broadcasts

Internet Modern History Sourcebook
Vast, comprehensive site designed by Paul Halsall of the University of North Florida collects together an enormous amount of primary source material that ranges over the entire modern period. The site was designed to support the needs of teachers and students in college survey courses in modern Western Civilization, and every major theme in History 102 (The West and the World) is addressed by the documents available here. Well-organized and worth exploring.
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/modsbook.html

Irish History Online (Bibliography)
Irish History Online provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with Ireland during all periods from prehistoric times to the present. It is a guide to the work of historians rather than to original sources, unless they have been edited and republished by historians. The bibliography aims to be as comprehensive as is practical for publications since 1936. It lists books, articles in books and articles in journals, including, notably, local history journals. Material from electronic journals is being incorporated. Material is included irrespective of place or language of publication, although coverage is most comprehensive for works published in Ireland and Britain. Data covering publications from 1936 to 2004 are now available for online searching, comprising over 65,000 records.
http://www.rhs.ac.uk/bibl/

LIBRO: The Library of Iberian Resources Online
A joint project of the American Academy of Research Historians of Medieval Spain and the University of Central Arkansas, LIBRO's task is to make available to users the best scholarship about the peoples and nations of the Iberian peninsula. The site currently offers 52 volumes drawn from recent, but out-of-print university press monographs. The collection focuses upon peninsular history from the fifth to the seventeenth centuries. These online books are presented in full-text format and reproduce all the matter included in the original print version. A wonderful resource.
http://libro.uca.edu/

WESSWEB: Western European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries
Useful collection of online resource guides to European studies prepared by library specialists in the field. Includes regional, historical, and contemporary sources, texts and text collections, library resources, and book reviews.
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/wess/

Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website