Skip to main content

HIST4800: Modern European Cultural History: Databases for Secondary Sources

Resources for the study of modern European cultural history, 1848-Present

Databases for Secondary Sources

Historical Abstracts
Bibliographic database for modern history. The most important resources to use when searching for scholarly articles on the history of modern Europe. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


Academic Search Complete
Large, interdisciplinary full-text database contains over 8,500 full-text publications, including academic journals, magazines, books, and trade publications. Offers broad subject coverage for a variety of disciplines, including anthropology, area studies, biology, chemistry, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and many other fields. It is recommended you include the expression "SU History" when searching the database to obtain focused results. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


Art Full Text
The Art Full Text database provides high-quality indexing of over 500 periodicals covering all topics in art from 1984 to the present, plus the full text of articles from nearly 200 journals as far back as 1997. Art Full Text indexes publications from several countries covering fine, decorative and commercial art as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture, and much more. [1984 - present] Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


JSTOR
The JSTOR electronic journal archive includes full-text backfiles for several major scholarly journals in history, education, and sociology. The collection can be searched or browsed. From the openning screen, select appropriate subject collections from the list of disciplines before entering your search terms. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is a bibliographic database to journal articles, books, and dissertations relating to all forms of human communication. Coverage includes literature from all over the world - Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. The database currently contains over 2 million records back to 1926 and covers over 4,400 journals. Links to full-text articles are provided in the database where these are available. [1926 - present] Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central is a large multidisciplinary database indexing over 14,000 publications, the majority of them available in full text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, and more. The publications include over 6,500 scholarly journals, over 3,600 trade publications, over 2,000 magazines and newspapers, and over 800 industry reports, plus dissertations and theses, company annual reports, and videos. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website