Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Books & Media
Search the Cheng Library online catalog for books and media. If you need journal articles, go to our Databases page.
Criminal Justice in the Library
Criminal Justice resources in the library may be located in a number of different places, because it can be associated with both Sociology and Law. Therefore, it's always a good idea to find the call number before venturing upstairs to make sure that you're in the right place.
If you're feeling adventurous, though, and just want to browse through our collection, here's a partial guide to the Library of Congress call number ranges to get you started:
- H: Social Sciences (General)
- HV: Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology.
- HV6001-7220.5: Criminology.
- HV6035-6197: Criminal antrhopology.
- HV6201-6249: Criminal classes.
- HV6250-6250.4: Victims of crimes. Victimology.
- HV6251-6773.55: Crimes and offenses.
- HV6774-7220.5: Crimes and criminal classes.
- HV7231-9960: Criminal justice administration.
- HV7428: Social work with delinquents and criminals.
- HV7431: Prevention of crime, methods, etc.
- HV7435-7439: Gun control.
- HV7551-8280.7: Police. Detectives. Constabulary.
- HV8290-8291: Private security services.
- HV8301-9920.7: Penology. Prisons. Corrections.
- KF: Law of the United States
- KF1-9827: Federal law. Common and collective state law.
Keep in mind that many of the titles in KF may not discuss criminal justice directly. Instead, you might choose to do a Subject search, using keywords such as:
- Criminal Justice
- Corrections, Reformatories, Prisons, etc.
- Juvenile Justice
- Women offenders
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice by
Call Number: Ref. HV6017.E52 2002
Publication Date: 2002
"The encyclopedia of crime & justice not only discusses many different kinds of crime--from perjury to terrorism--but also looks at law enforcement, legal procedures and penalties and the social causes and wide-ranging impact of crimes on society. The articles reflect issues dominating the news and entertainment media--topics that are frequently discussed or assigned in both high school and college curricula. What is perjury? How do copyright laws pertain to the Internet? Can a juvenile be tried as an adult for murder? In 250 A-Z entries, these interdisciplinary articles deal with the sociology, psychology, history and economics of crime."
The following titles consist of encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference soureces that can be useful in your criminal justice research. This is not a comprehensive list, so explore the shelves and online catalog to see what else is available.
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior by
Call Number: Ref. HV6017.E53
Publication Date: 2000
v. 1. Historical, conceptual, and theoretical issue
v. 2. Crime and juvenile delinquency
v. 3. Sexual deviance
v. 4. Self-destructive behavior and disvalued identity
World of Criminal Justice by
Publication Date: 2002
The individual entries in this ready-reference source explain in concise, detailed, and jargon-free language some of the most important topics, theories, discoveries, concepts, and organizations in criminal justice. Brief biographical profiles of the people who have made a significant and lasting impact on the field of criminal justice and society in general are also included. More than 320 photographs, statistical charts, and graphs aid the reader in understanding the topics and people covered in the reference work.
Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment in the United States by
Publication Date: 2008
This updated encyclopedia provides ready information on all aspects of capital punishment in America. It details virtually every capital punishment decision rendered by the United States Supreme Court through 2006. Entries are also provided for each Supreme Court Justice who has ever rendered a capital punishment opinion. Entries on jurisdictions cite present-day death penalty laws and judicial structure state by state, with synopses of common and unique features. Also included are entries on significant U.S. capital prosecutions; legal principles and procedures in capital cases; organizations that support and oppose capital punishment; capital punishment's impact on persons of African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native American descent, on women, and on foreign nationals; and the methods of execution. Essential facts are also provided on capital punishment in more than 200 other nations. A wealth of statistical data is found throughout.
Why Use Books?
For many, the idea of using a book to locate information might seem old fashioned. But, the reality is that there is still a lot of information NOT available online. The library owns a wide variety of print resources on topics related to sociology, all of which can be found using the online catalog.
Our extensive collection of reference books are a great starting point for your research projects, allowing you to learn about your topic, before you start searching for articles in our many databases.