Skip to main content

HIST5990: Selected Topics - History of Suburbia: Web-Based Digital Collections

Web-Based Digital Collections

American History Online
American History Online, a project of the Andrew W. Mellon foundation and the University of Illinois, provides scholars with access to distributed historical digital library collections. OVer 360 collections are currently accessible through this search and browse portal, and over 416,000 items - representing over 70 percent of all materials in these collections - are from the 20th century. The primary source materials available through this portal include photographs and cultural materials, books and pamphlets, journal articles, maps, short music videos, data sets, political cartoons and posters, and oral histories.


AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
A large and growing directory of links to historical documents on the web, organized chronologically. Maintained by by George Laughead Jr., manager of the World Wide Web Virtual Library for United States History.
http://www.vlib.us/amdocs/


American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
American Memory is a large-scale project of the Library of Congress to make available multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library's Americana collections. Over 100 historical collections are now available through this site, including over seven million digitized items (e.g., maps, pamphlets, sheet music, photographs, broadsides, films, sound recordings, notebooks, periodicals and manuscripts). Among the many notable collections in American Memory is Working Paterson: Occupational Heritage in an Urban Setting.
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amhome.html


American Women: A Gateway to Library of Congress Resources for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States
This site "contains a slightly expanded and fully searchable version of the print publication 'American Women: A Library of Congress Guide for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States' ... with added illustrations and links to existing digitized material located throughout the Library of Congress Web site." Includes books, maps, manuscripts, music, images, and other research materials. Browsable and searchable. From the American Memory Project of the Library of Congress. [Librarians' Internet Index]
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/awhhtml/


Center for Urban Policy Research (Rutgers University)
For four decades, the Center for Urban Policy Research has served the nation with basic and applied research on a broad spectrum of public policy issues. CUPR, a component of the Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy, is nationally and internationally recognized for its research on affordable housing, land use policy, environmental impact analysis, state planning, public finance, land development practice, historic preservation, infrastructure assessment, development impact analysis, the costs of sprawl, transportation information systems, environmental impacts, and community economic development.


Levittown: Documents of an Ideal American Suburb
Professor Peter Hales of the University of Illinois at Chicago has created this site to document the social, cultural, and visual history of that much maligned epitome of post-World War II suburban living, Levittown. Utilizing the photographic collections of former residents of Levittown, different sections of the site address certain facets of the community's existence. Beginning with Building Levittown: A Primer in which Professor Hales offers a brief portrait of the way the homes in the community were built and arranged, the site continues on to feature photographs donated by Levittown residents like Charles F. Tekula and Brian McCabe. The final section of the site features the photographic work of Professor Hales's reexamination in Levittown in the early 1990s and its evolution over the past fifty years. [Internet Scout Project]


The Lewis Mumford Center for Comparative Urban and Regional Research
By promoting broad-based collaboration among urban scholars from a variety of fields and geographic settings, the Center's mission is to further urbanist Lewis Mumford's ideal of local involvement with global vision. To this end, Center projects and activities range from international urban conferences, to local planning initiatives, to national endeavors examining urban change over time.


Metropolitan Policy Program (Brookings Institution)
Created in 1996, the Brookings Institution Metropolitan Policy Program provides decision makers with timely trend analysis, cutting-edge research and policy ideas for improving the health and prosperity of cities and metropolitan areas.


New Deal Network
The New Deal Network is a research and teaching resource devoted to the public works and arts projects of the New Deal. At the core of the site is a database of primary source materials - photographs, political cartoons, and texts (speeches, letters, and other historic documents) - gathered from the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library, the National Archives and Records Administration, the Library of Congress, and other sources. Currently there are over 20,000 items in this database, many of them previously accessible only to scholars. Unlike many databases on the Web, which represent the holdings of a particular institution, the New Deal Network is drawing from a wide variety of sources around the country to create a theme-based archive.


Presidential Libraries (National Archives and Records Administration)
The Presidential Libraries are repositories for preserving and making available the papers, records, and other historical materials of U.S. Presidents since Herbert Hoover. Each one contains a museum and provides an active series of public programs. When a President leaves office, NARA establishes a Presidential project until a new Presidential library is built and transferred to the Government. This site contains links to each library.
http://www.archives.gov/presidential-libraries/


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website