Skip to main content

HIST5990: Selected Topics - History of Suburbia: Statistical Resources

Statistical Resources

Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S. Department of Commerce)
BEA is one of the world's leading statistical agencies. Although it is a relatively small agency, BEA produces some of the most closely watched economic statistics that influence the decisions made by government officials, business people, households, and individuals. BEA's economic statistics, which provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy, are key ingredients in critical decisions affecting monetary policy, tax and budget projections, and business investment plans. The cornerstone of BEA's statistics is the national income and product accounts (NIPAs), which feature the estimates of gross domestic product (GDP) and related measures.


Bureau of Labor Statistics (U.S. Department of Labor)
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are objective, timely, accurate, and relevant.


Demographic Data at the Scholars' Lab (University of Virginia Library)
Demographic data describe populations. Typical variables are population size and growth, age, sex, race, and household and family structure.


Economic Data at the Scholars' Lab (University of Virginia Library)
Economic data describe businesses, industries, economies, and the labor force. Included in this subject area also are income and poverty information for persons, households, and families.


Geospatial Data: Demographic GIS Data and Links at the Scholars' Lab (University of Virginia Library)
Demographic data enhanced with geographic and mapping tools.


Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970 / United States. Bureau of the Census. - Bicentennial ed. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census : for sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1975. - 2 v; Includes bibliographical references and indexes.; House document (United States. Congress (93rd, 1st session : 1973). House) ; no. 93-78. - Call Number: REF HA202.B87 [OR ONLINE]
Standard two-volume digest of historical statistics originally produced for the Bicentennial. Very convenient lookup tool for statistical data, now entirely online in two PDF files, one for each volume.


Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present / Susan B. Carter. - Millennial ed. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2006. - Susan B. Carter ... [et al.].; 5 v. : ill. ; 29 cm; Rev. update of: Historical statistics of the United States, colonial times to 1970. Bicentennial ed. Washington : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1975.; Includes bibliographical references and indexes.; v. 1. Population -- v. 2. Work and welfare -- v. 3. Economic structure and performance -- v. 4. Economic sectors -- v. 5. Governance and international relations. - Call Number: REF HA202.H57
Five-volume "Millennial Edition" of this standard statistical reference is the basic starting point for all historical questions that might require the use of statistical evidence. Drawn from a wide variety of sources and comprehensive in its topical scope.


Social and Behavioral Data at the Scholars' Lab (University of Virginia Library)
Social and behavioral data cover a wide spectrum of subjects including crime, education, justice, religion, sexual behavior, and substance abuse. Opinion surveys and sociometric data are also found here.


State of the Cities Data System (U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development)
The SOCDS provides data for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, and Suburbs.


United States Historical Census Data Browser
This site, hosted by the University of Virginia Library, provides census data for each U.S. state and county from 1790 to 1970. The information was drawn from a statistical data file created by the the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) [Study Number 0003, "Historical Demographic, Economic and Social Data: The United States, 1790-1970"]. The online viewing tools work best for browsing.
http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/census/


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website