LibGuides: Economics: US Economic Data Sources

Top Picks

To learn about some of these indicators and how they are calculated consult the Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators.

Budget of the US Government Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Other related and supporting budget publications are included, which may vary from year to year.
Economic Indicators (Census Bureau)
Economic Report of the President
Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco
Data and Statistics About the U.S.
Find data about the U.S., such as demographic and economic data, population, and maps. Get information about the 2020 U.S. Census.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012)
Statistical Abstract of the United States (2013-Present)
Survey of Current Business
US Economy at a Glance (BLS)
Beige Book (Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions by Federal Reserve District)
Commonly known as the Beige Book, this report is published eight times per year. Each Federal Reserve Bank gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its District through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts, and other sources. The Beige Book summarizes this information by District and sector. An overall summary of the twelve district reports is prepared by a designated Federal Reserve Bank on a rotating basis.

Price Indexes

Selected Links

BizStats
EconData from Inforum This page lists the G7 databanks that are currently made available by Inforum. Click on the filename below to download the .zip file into your local directory. Unzip it and use Inforum's database and regression package, G, to access that data. For assistance when using G, consult the G7 Manual. The list below indicates the size (in kilobytes) of each file, date of its last update, and a brief description. A separate EconData Archive page contains older U.S., State and Local, and International data.
NBER List of Economic Indicators and Releases
Resources for Economists
From the American Economic Association

Census

Measures of Worth

MeasuringWorth.com
MeasuringWorth is a service for calculating relative worth over time. There are two missions of this site. The first is to make available to the public the highest quality and most reliable historical data on important economic aggregates, with particular emphasis on nominal (current-price) measures, as well as real (constant-price) measures. The data presented here on the United States, the United Kingdom and Australia, have been created using the highest standards of the fields of economics and history, and they were rigorously refereed by the most distinguished researchers in the fields. The second is to provide carefully designed comparators (using these data) that explain the many issues involved in making value comparisons over time.

Selected US Federal Agencies

For a comprehensive list of federal statistical agencies, consult Federal Statistical System, a directory hosted by the American Economic Association. The Federal statistical system consists of 13 principal statistical agencies each tasked with collecting, processing, analyzing, and disseminating data in their subject areas.

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve
Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S. Department of Commerce)
BEA is one of the world's leading statistical agencies. Although it is a relatively small agency, BEA produces some of the most closely watched economic statistics that influence the decisions made by government officials, business people, households, and individuals. BEA's economic statistics, which provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy, are key ingredients in critical decisions affecting monetary policy, tax and budget projections, and business investment plans. The cornerstone of BEA's statistics is the national income and product accounts (NIPAs), which feature the estimates of gross domestic product (GDP) and related measures.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Census Bureau
National Agricultural Statistics Services
US Energy Information Administration