Skip to main content

HIST2600: Historical Methods (20th Century U.S. History Focus): Statistical Sources: The 1970 Census

Resources for historical methods and research projects, with a focus on materials in the 20th century United States history.

1970 Census Publications and Data

Due to the extremely large file sizes, American FactFinder can only store data from the last two Censuses. Currently, only the 2010 and 2000 Census data are available in American FactFinder. For the 1970 Decennial Census, consult these publications and related resources for data on the Hispanic/Latino population.

Note: The Hispanic/Latino population is described in the 1970 Census as persons “of Spanish origin.”

United States and Bureau of the Census. 1970 Census of Population. Volume 2, Subject Reports. 1C, Persons of Spanish Origin. Washington, D.C: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Social and Economic Statistics Administration, Bureau of the Census: For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O, 1973.
A detailed overview of the Hispanic/Latino population in the 1970 Census. Please note that the link is for a Zip archive file, and the contents must be extracted after downloading.


United States. Bureau of the Census. 1970 Census of Population. Subject Reports. Puerto Ricans in the United States. Washington, D.C: For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Office, 1973.
A special report focusing exclusively on the Puerto Rican population in the 1970 Census; includes detailed information on the state level for New Jersey. Please note that the link is for a Zip archive file, and the contents must be extracted after downloading.


United States and Bureau of the Census. 1970 Census of Population : Persons of Spanish Ancestry. Supplementary Report. Washington, D.C: U.S. Bureau of the Census : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O, 1973.
This report provides data from the 1970 Census on the numbers and geographic distribution of the Hispanic/Latino population. The 1970 Census used four identifiers to provide statistical information for persons of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, or other Spanish background. The four identifiers are based, respectively, on origin, surname, language, and birthplace. The report shows counts of the Spanish ancestry population for the country as a whole, regions, divisions, and states. Also includes municipal-level data for Jersey City, Newark, Paterson, Clifton, Passaic, and Trenton. Please note that the link is for a Zip archive file, and the contents must be extracted after downloading.


United States. Bureau of the Census. 1970 Census of Population. Volume 1 : Characteristics of the Population. Part 32: New Jersey. Washington: U.S. G.P.O, 1973. - Section 1 and Section 2
Although this publication contains the most detailed data sets about New Jersey for the 1970 Census, it does a relatively poor job of incorporating specific data on the Hispanic/Latino population. Only a small number of tables include any data regarding this segment of the population, and dedicated tables are provided only for the Purto Rican population. Please note that the links are for Zip archive files, and the contents must be extracted after downloading.


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website