Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bibliographies and Guides to Historical Literature
- American Foreign Relations since 1600: A Guide to the Literature / Robert L. Beisner, editor. - Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2003. - 2 v. (xviii, 2065 p.) ; 26 cm. - Rev. ed. of: Guide to American foreign relations since 1700 / edited by Richard Dean Burns. 1983. - Includes bibliographical references and indexes. - Call Number: REF E183.7.G84
- Excellent annotated bibliography covers the full span of U.S. diplomatic history with over 16,000 entries covering reference works, primary materials, historiography, biographical, thematic and geographical studies, and much more. Organized into 32 chapters following a chronological pattern, about three-fourths of the bibliography is devoted to 20th century topics. This should be the first stop for any student doing a research paper on a topic in U.S. diplomatic history.
- The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature / general editor, Mary Beth Norton; associate editor, Pamela Gerardi. - New York: Oxford University Press, 1995. - 2 v.; 27 cm. - Call Number: REF D20.A64
- Carefully selected books and articles covering all major topic areas in historical research. Not intended to be exhaustive; instead the editors emphasize the best and most important works published for each subject area, concentrating on writings published between 1961 and 1992. All entries contain brief, useful annotations. Volume 2 includes four sections relevant to the course: Sections 43 and 44 cover 20th century U.S. history and Sections 47 and 48 cover 20th century international relations. Should be supplemented with a search in the Book Reviews section of the Journal of American History, the American Historical Review and other journals for the period after 1992.
- The American History Highway: A Guide to Internet Resources on U.S., Canadian, and Latin American History / Dennis A. Trinkle, and Scott A. Merriman. - Armonk, N.Y.: M.E. Sharpe, 2007. - Dennis A. Trinkle and Scott A. Merriman, editors.; Includes index. - Call Number: E16.5.A46
- Organized under topical and chronological headings, this guide features 37 chapters with annotated citations to web sites selected by the editors as useful for historical research. The book contains a CD-ROM with a PDF version of the text for easier direct-to-web browsing of the contents.
- American Military History: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources / Daniel K. Blewett. - Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1995. - Daniel K. Blewett.; Includes indexes. - Call Number: REF E181.B44
- 1,184 numbered references to English-language materials relating to the military history of the U.S., including all branches of the armed forces. Also functions as an accessible, selective guide to other relevant reference sources in military history. The first 14 chapters offer a chronological treatment of armed conflicts from the Colonial era through the Persian Gulf War. The remaining nine chapters treat specific topics such as terrorism and intelligence and espionage, and various information resources such as journals and organizations and associations. Approximately two-thirds of the entries have annotations that vary greatly in length from a few words to half a page, but are pertinent and clearly written. PLEASE NOTE that this is an electronic book; access to it from off-campus requires the creation of a personal netLibrary account on campus. [Choice]
- American Popular Culture: A Guide to the Reference Literature / Frank W. Hoffmann. - Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1995. - Includes indexes.; Electronic reproduction. Boulder, Colo. : NetLibrary, 2000. Available via World Wide Web. Access may be limited to NetLibrary affiliated libraries. - E169.1H64 [E-BOOK]
- Bibliographic guide to reference materials and other sources of information on popular culture in the U.S. Along with the topical chapters, there are also chapters on special research collections, societies and associations dedicated to popular culture, and important journals in the field. PLEASE NOTE that this is an electronic book; access to it from off-campus requires the creation of a personal netLibrary account on campus.
- The Columbia Guide to America in the 1960s / David R. Farber, and Beth L. Bailey. - New York: Columbia University Press, 2001. - David Farber and Beth Bailey with contributors.; Includes bibliographical references (p. -489) and index. - Call Number: E841.C575
- Excellent one-volume guide is a practical tool for research on a wide variety of topics in the history of the 1960s. The guide provides a concise narrative overview of the era; a section on the major historiographic debates; a glossary of key figures, events and movements; a section of essays on broader cultural and institutional subjects; a brief chronology; and an annotated bibliography, organized by topic.
- The Columbia Guide to the Cold War / Michael Kort. - New York: Columbia University Press, 1998. - Includes index.; Columbia guides to American history and cultures. - Call Number: REF E744.K696
- This volume provides a basic survey of the historiography (12 p.) and major events (80 p.) of the Cold War, 1945-90, interspersed with brief discussions of common questions, from how effectively Roosevelt negotiated at Yalta to what led to the end of the Cold War. The somewhat fewer than 90 brief encyclopedia-like articles include basic (mostly U.S.) names and concepts, but omit many found in typical general encyclopedias (e.g., Zhou Enlai, Gomulka, Dubcek, Masaryk, Kadar). Most useful are the well-annotated bibliography of English-language sources, complete and handily organized by topics arranged in rough chronology, and the lists of archival and Web sources and of relevant films. [Choice]
- Handbook for Research in American History: A Guide to Bibliographies and other Reference Works / Francis Paul Prucha. - Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, c1994. - ix, 214 p. ; 23 cm. - Includes index. - Call Number: REF E178.P78
- One of the best guides to reference sources in history. Describes 1,000 titles under 19 source-type categories, including manuscripts, oral history materials, government documents, local history collections, statistics, and picture sources. Does not include the web.
- The Harvard Guide to African-American History / Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham, Leon F. Litwack, and Darlene Clark Hine. - Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 2001. - Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham, editor-in-chief ; Leon F. Litwack and Darlene Clark Hine, general editors ; Randall K. Burkett, associate editor ; foreword by Henry Louis Gates, Jr.; Includes bibliographical references index.; System requirements for accompanying disc: Adobe acrobat reader version 4.0 or higher. - Call Number: REF E185.H326
- Comprehensive bibliography contains 12 essays on historical research aids and over 15,000 bibliographic entries covering the full range of African-American history. Although the entries are not annotated, this is still an indispensible guide to research on any topic in African-American history.
- Term Paper Resource Guide to Twentieth-Century United States History / Muccigrosso, Robert Muccigrosso, Ron Blazek, and Teri Maggio. - Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1999. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF E741.M83
- "This handy volume is a great help to any student beginning research on a topic or any student unsure of what topic to pursue and seeking suggestions. It offers a chronological arrangement of 100 significant events of the 20th century with brief introductions, followed by specific suggestions for related paper topics and annotated bibliographies of current and classic reference and general sources, including relevant audiovisual materials and Web sites." [Choice]
- United States History: A Selective Guide to Information Sources / Ron Blazek, and Anna H. Perrault. - Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1994. - Includes indexes.; Electronic reproduction. Boulder, Colo. : NetLibrary, 2000. Available via World Wide Web. - E178.B57 [E-BOOK]
- The editors successfuly span the chasm between traditional listings of sources in American history and the burgeoning literature of the "new" history's attention to social and economic history of minorities, urban areas, science and technology, and popular culture during the last 30 years. Arranged by broad topic areas (general, politics and government, diplomacy, military, regional history, economics) the guide balances its focus by devoting 420 of its 947 main entries to the section on social, cultural, and intellectual history. Content coverage ends in 1975, but sources were published as late as 1993. Many main entries offer, besides lucid evaluative annotations, cross-references to "minor entries." There is an author-title-subject index. Entries are subdivided somewhat artificially in each subject category into sections entitled "library resources," "bibliographic sources," "information sources," and "biographical sources," and annotations spotlight strong points for the source, such as biographies, for particular groups of users. An essay prefacing each topic describes: publishing and research trends in that area; related associations and their publications; data sets such as census and those of Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, and the usefulness of indexes available in electronic format. Please note that a personal netLibrary account is required for off-campus access to the electronic version. [Choice]
- Women in U.S. History: A Resource Guide / Lyda Mary Hardy. - Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 2000. - Lyda Mary Hardy.; Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF HQ1410.H364
- This useful guide provides critically annotated listings of a variety of materials in women's history, including secondary monographs, published primary sources, reference materials, videos, and internet resources. The book is organized into sections providing chronological coverage of women in US history from Colonial times to the present, different ethnic groups, areas of accomplishment, historiography, the theory and methodology of women's history, and a brief section on women's history in the curriculum. Intended to be selective rather than comprehensive, the guide is a good starting point for research.