Skip to main content

HIST2600: Historical Methods (20th Century U.S. History Focus): Statistical Sources: The 1980 Census

Resources for historical methods and research projects, with a focus on materials in the 20th century United States history.

1980 Census Publications and Data

Due to the extremely large file sizes, American FactFinder can only store data from the last two Censuses. Currently, only the 2010 and 2000 Census data are available in American FactFinder. For the 1980 Decennial Census, consult these publications and related resources for data on the Hispanic/Latino population.

Note: The Hispanic/Latino population is described in the 1980 Census as persons “of Spanish origin.”

United States, Bureau of the Census, and Population Division. 1980 Census of Population. Persons of Spanish Origin by State, 1980 : Supplementary Report. PC 80-S 1-7 ed. Washington, D.C: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census : For sale by Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O, 1982. .
Provides state-level details on the Hispanic/Latino population, specifying those of Mexican, Puerto Rican, and Cuban origin (with the rest of the population grouped together as “Other Spanish”).


United States, Bureau of the Census, and Population Division. 1980 Census of Population. Supplementary Report. Detailed Occupation and Years of School Completed by Age, for the Civilian Labor Force by Sex, Race, and Spanish Origin, 1980. PC 80-S 1-8 ed. Washington, D.C: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O, 1983.
Contains only national-level details, but still very useful for occupational data and educational attainment data.


United States, Bureau of the Census, and Population Division. 1980 Census of Population. Volume 1. Characteristics of the Population. Chapter B. General Population Characteristics. Part 32. New Jersey. PC 80-1-B 32 ed. Washington, D.C: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O, 1982.
Covers the “Spanish origin” population for a variety geographical units within the state, plus general characteristics of the “Spanish origin” population (age, household type and relationship, family type by presence of own children, marital status). Please note that the link is for a Zip archive file, and the contents must be extracted after downloading.


United States, Bureau of the Census, and Population Division. 1980 Census of Population. Volume 1. Characteristics of the Population. Chapter C. General Social and Economic Characteristics. Part 32. New Jersey. PC 80-1-C 32 ed. Washington, D.C: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O, 1983.
Covers ancestry, educational attainment, labor force status, occupation, income, poverty, among other measures. Please note that the link is for a Zip archive file, and the contents must be extracted after downloading.


United States and Bureau of the Census. 1980 Census of Population. Volume 1, Characteristics of the Population. Chapter D, Detailed Population Characteristics. Part 32, New Jersey. PC 80-1-D 32 ed. Washington, D.C: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census : For sale by Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O, 1984.
Covers detailed social and economic characteristics. Please note that the link is for a Zip archive file, and the contents must be extracted after downloading.


File Transfer Protocol (FTP) datasets for the 1980 Census
Access to the “raw” data files from the 1980 Census. It is possible to use these to find data for your variables at the level of municipal geographical units, but doing so requires some work.


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website