HIST2600: Historical Methods (Local History Focus): Web-Based Digital Collections

DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.

The Library of Congress makes available many multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library's Americana collections. Over 100 historical collections are now available through this site, including over seven million digitized items (e.g., maps, pamphlets, sheet music, photographs, broadsides, films, sound recordings, notebooks, periodicals and manuscripts). Among the many notable collections is Working in Paterson: Occupational Heritage in an Urban Setting.

The Rutgers University digital repository contains extensive digital collections documenting the history of New Jersey and its municipalities, a number of digital exhibitions, and access to the New Jersey Digital Highway, a portal to numerous sources on New Jersey history and culture.

The New Jersey State Library's digital materials include state publications; a non-government "Digital Jerseyana" collection; economic, population, and municipal data, maps, legislative documents, legal and genealogical resources, and newspapers.

WPSphere is William Paterson University's institutional repository, containing many digitized items documenting the history of the university.