New Jersey History Day 2025: Published Document Collections

This book describes the work of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) in Arkansas during the Civil Rights movement. The book brings together a collection of articles on SNCC's activities in the state, firsthand testimonies, and key historical documents from the organization's experiences in Arkansas.

This book covers documents and related information pertaining to civil liberties in America, including the debates over arbitrary state action, due process, equal protection, freedom of speech, and privacy issues.
The USA PATRIOT Act, the actions and free speech of the Ku Klux Klan, and the use of privately owned devices with GPS by law enforcement are all highly controversial topics that fall under the blanket of civil liberties and federal or state authority--subjects that are important to most Americans.

This work provides a comprehensive collection of texts essential to understanding the Bill of Rights, incorporating pertinent materials from the debate on the ratification of the Bill of Rights.

ourteen years since its establishment,the work of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights has not received the attention that should have been paid to its important contributions towards the promotion and protection of human rights in Africa. The aim of this publication is to provide not only the basic documents, but also the less well known material related to the jurisprudence emanating from the consideration of communications. This volume therefore includes, amongst other material, the twelve activity reports adopted by the Commission, resolutions, and final communiqués from the sessions.

The International Law of Youth Rights is a pioneering study tracing the origin, growth and basic features of the international law of youth rights. It consists of both source documents and commentary on the historical trends to elaborate and codify international instruments and standards in this field as well as action taken by governmental, intergovernmental, and non-governmental organizations to promote and protect youth rights.

Make Your Own History: Documenting Feminist and Queer Activism in the 21st Century addresses the practical and theoretical challenges and advantages of researching, documenting, and archiving recent and contemporary activists in the feminist and queer movements. In the last few decades, the place and practice of activism has shifted from a physical “headquarters” where activists convene to plan and strategize, to the reality where planning happens at various desks and kitchen tables across the country (or world) and activists then convene at one site for an action (the prime example of this being the WTO protest in Seattle in 1999).

This title covers iconic primary documents from the 1600s to the present. Each entry offers the full text of the document as well as an in-depth, analytical essay that places the document in its historical context. Among the sources included are important legislative documents such as the Reconstruction era amendments; critical Supreme Court decisions; and iconic speeches and writings by leaders such as Sojourner Truth, Booker T. Washington, Martin Luther King, Jr., and Barack Obama.

Including a never-before published speech by Martin Luther King, Jr., this is the first compilation of its kind, bringing together the most influential and important voices from two hundred years of America's struggle for civil rights, including essential speeches from leaders, both famous and obscure.

Risking Everything : A Freedom Summer Reader documents the 1964 Mississippi Freedom Summer Project, when SNCC and CORE workers and volunteers arrived in the Deep South to register voters and teach non-violence, and more than 60,000 Black Mississippians risked everything to overturn a system that had brutally exploited them. In the 44 original documents in this anthology, you'll read their letters, eavesdrop on their meetings, shudder at their suffering, and admire their courage.

Presenting essays, letters, interviews, speeches, government documents, and other testimony, this book shows how tribal leaders, intellectuals, and activists deployed a variety of protest methods over more than a century to demand Indigenous sovereignty.

Most people who have heard of Fannie Lou Hamer (1917–1977) are aware of the impassioned testimony that this Mississippi sharecropper and civil rights activist delivered at the 1964 Democratic National Convention. Far fewer people are familiar with the speeches Hamer delivered at the 1968 and 1972 conventions, to say nothing of addresses she gave closer to home, or with Malcolm X in Harlem, or even at the founding of the National Women's Political Caucus. This volume features twenty-one of Hamer's most important speeches and testimonies.

This Commentary provides the first comprehensive legal article-by-article analysis of the provisions of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD). The Convention is the key international human rights instrument exclusively devoted to persons with disabilities and the centerpiece of international efforts to address inequalities and barriers they encounter to the full enjoyment of human rights.

Historians have long agreed that women—black and white—were instrumental in shaping the civil rights movement. Until recently, though, such claims have not been supported by easily accessed texts of speeches and addresses. With this first-of-its-kind anthology, Davis W. Houck and David E. Dixon present thirty-nine full-text addresses by women who spoke out while the struggle was at its most intense.