New Jersey History Day 2025: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

"This illustrated set features approximately 900 alphabetically arranged entries about various people, events, concepts, organizations, legal hallmarks, and publications that made a 'significant positive contribution' to the advancement of African American civil rights, a feature that distinguishes this work from other encyclopedias of the Civil Rights Movement. New features include boldface cross-references, Internet citations, and a section of 120 primary source documents, 1862-2001. A revised selected bibliography includes relevant historical scholarship published in the last decade" [Choice].

American Constitutional Law provides a comprehensive account of the nations defining document. Based on the premise that the study of the Constitution and constitutional law is of fundamental importance to understanding the principles, prospects, and problems of America, this text puts current events in terms of what those who initially drafted and ratified the Constitution sought to accomplish.

This title offers easy to grasp explanations of the basic concepts and laws in the field, with emphasis on human rights in the historical, political, and legal experience of the United States. It surveys the legal protection of human dignity in the United States, examines the sources of human rights norms, cites key legal cases, explains the role of international governmental and non-governmental organizations, and charts global, regional, and UN human rights measures.

Spanning nearly 400 years from the early abolitionists to the present, this guide book profiles people, places, and events that have shaped the history of the black struggle for freedom.

This volume follows the debates leading to decisions about gender roles and rights as these evolved throughout history. It offers a wide range of opinion essays and editorials, speeches, and journal articles and expert analysis.

This volume offers a sweeping overview of the shifting tensions and public opinions fueled by Americans' expectations of privacy vs. their collective desire for national security. Diving into how far the government has gone and "should" go in the name of national security, this volume analyzes primary and secondary source documents such as Supreme Court decisions, articles from respected periodicals, and legislation. Coverage includes domestic spying, Apple's refusal to help with "back door" access of the iPhone, and the differences between President Obama's and President Trump's surveillance states.

This eighth volume starts with a detailed Introduction that highlights the important topics that have shaped the right to vote in the United States. A comprehensive timeline follows, highlighting significant events in voter enfranchisement from the first vote held in 1607 in the New World to elect a leader of the Virginia Colony to the 2019 delay in North Carolina to implement voter ID requirements. Following the timeline, 28 chapters comprehensively and chronologically trace the history of the right to vote from white, male, property-owning Christians to every American, with an exception or two, to this day.

This Handbook covers aspects of of the current state of Human Rights across the globe.