Statistics Resources: Home

Fact – According to the U.S. Census Bureau, pre-K-12 teachers form the largest single occupational group in the United States today, and it is growing even larger (Ingersoll, Merrill, and Stuckey 2014).  With that being said, the field of education produces annual data that influences and impacts decisions in schools districts, schools, colleges, and universities all across America.

 

General Resource: https://datasetsearch.research.google.com/ 

 

Education Law Center

The Education Law Center (ELC) is an advocate for children in New Jersey public schools. Their website gives background information about issues affecting public schools, including bullying, funding, preschool education, special education and others. The Research section provides over ten years of data about ethnicity and eligibility for school lunch programs. Information about cases argued by the ELC, including Abbott v. Burke is also available.
Grades: PreK - 12

Education Law Center: Data & Research

The Education Law Center is an advocate for educational equity in NJ. This section of their website provides extensive data (in the form of charts) for student demographics, free/reduced lunch, etc. Additional data is available for preschools, charter schools, secondary schools and school funding.
Grades: PreK - 12

Child and Family Statistics

The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics is a government partnership which coordinates the efforts of several federal reporting agencies. The Forum's publications include the annual America's Children Monitoring Report and the Counting Couples Proceedings.
Grades: PreK - 12

Education Law Center: Data & Research

The Education Law Center is an advocate for educational equity in NJ. This section of their website provides extensive data (in the form of charts) for student demographics, free/reduced lunch, etc. Additional data is available for preschools, charter schools, secondary schools and school funding.
Grades: PreK - 12

Institute for Urban and Minority Education (IUME)

Supported by Teachers College of Columbia University, the IUME conducts research about urban and minority education. Its resources include the archive of the former ERIC Clearinghouse on Urban Education, as well as links to other urban education resources.
Grades: K - 12

National Center for Education Statistics

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) collects and analyzes data regarding education in the United States and other countries. Information about education from early childhood to college is available. "Stats at a Glance," "Quick Tables and Figures," and the Digest of Educational Statistics (click on the book in the top left corner) are among the resources available.
Grades: PreK - 12

 

The Nation's Report Card

The Nation's Report Card, more formally known as the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), is a publication of the National Center for Educational Statistics (NCES). This project is mandated by the federal government to assess and compare the academic progress of children in the following areas: reading, mathematics, science, writing, U.S. history, civics, geography, and the arts.
Grades: K - 12

Ending Learning Poverty (World Bank report, 2019) 

The World Bank report gives goals to ensure that all children can obtain a quality education. This document explains what it will take to end learning poverty with vital statistics.
Grades: K - 12

Global Education (U.S., not included in data)

Our World Data collects specific data entries for research in financing education, primary education, higher education, and education skill premiums. Provides an analysis for the determinants and consequences of education.
Grades: K - 12+

Global Partnership for Education

Education Data Highlights list explores useful global statistics on education by theme.
Grades: K - 12

Global Partnership for Education (February 2021 factsheet)

Download this fact sheet for highlighted statistics and information on how GPE helps lower income countries achieve quality education.
Grades: K - 12

Global Partnership for Education (2021) in Action

Examine the annual report how GPE helps partner countries strengthen their education system.
Grades: K - 12

 

Unesco Institute for Global statistics (UIS), 2018

This fact sheet presents the latest data on education available as of February 2018.
Grades: K - 12

Common Core Data (U.S.)

The Common Core of Data (CCD) is a primary database on public elementary and secondary education in the United States compiled by the Department of education.
Grades: K - 12

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation

CAEP advances equity and excellence in educator preparation through evidence-based accreditation that assures quality and supports continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 student learning.

National Association of educational Progress (NAEP)

The Nation's report Card has data on student assessment reports for all subject areas. 
Grades: K - 12

National Education Statistics

NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education including higher education.
Grades: K - 12+

 

The Condition of Education 2020

The Condition of Education 2020 is a congressionally mandated annual report summarizing the latest data from NCES and other sources on education in the United States. This report is designed to help policymakers and the public monitor educational progress.

Projections of Education Statistics to 2028

Projections of Education Statistics to 2028 is the 47th in a series of publications initiated in 1964. This publication provides national-level data on enrollment, teachers, high school graduates, and expenditures at the elementary and secondary level, and enrollment and degrees at the postsecondary level for the past 15 years and projections to the year 2028. 

 

Office of Civil Rights Data Collection

CRDC includes data about enrollment demographics, preschool, math and science, Sat and Act advanced placement testing, student retention, harassment or bullying, and many other education related areas..
Grades: PreK - 12

 

Speak Up 

Speak Up is the research tool districts use to learn what students, educators, parents and the community have to say about education issues.  The Speak Up Research Initiative, a national initiative of Project Tomorrow, is both a national research project and a free service to schools and districts everywhere. Since fall 2003, Speak Up has helped education leaders include the voices of their stakeholders in annual and long-term planning. More than 5 million participants have made Speak Up the largest collection of authentic, unfiltered stakeholder input on education, technology, schools of the future, science and math instruction, professional development and career exploration. National-level reports inform policymakers at all levels.

Educators from more than 30,000 schools have used Speak Up data to create and implement their vision for the next generation of learning. You can too! Learn more about how to register as the primary contact at https://speakup.tomorrow.org/ today to participate in Speak Up.

To see what our top Speak Up top schools and districts have to say about why they participate in Speak Up, and learn how they utilized their school/district’s data, visit our Speak Up in Action page here.

U.S. Census Bureau

Real life statistics can be used by educators to create material for students, includes resources for all subject areas. 
Grades: K - 12

 

U.S. Department of Education, Data & Statistics

Popular data sets information related to teaching, student loans, grants, education policies, and special education.
Grades: K - 12+

 

 

Statistical/Data Research for the state of New Jersey

State of New Jersey Education Statistics reports from 1997 to 2021.

New Jersey School Performance Reports

The annual New Jersey School Performance Reports. compiled by the state Department of Education, provides data for every school in the state. Approximately 50 categories of information are covered, including details on class size, enrollments, results on various examinations, graduation and dropout rates, and teachers and administrators.
Grades: K - 12

New Jersey Statewide Assessment Reports

Statistics on the ESPA, GEPA, and HSPA statewide testing in New Jersey for over ten years, with tables, charts, and executive summaries of results.
Grades: K - 12