LibGuides: English Language Learners Resources: Lesson Plans and Teaching Activities

Lesson Plan Resources

Activities for ESL Students: Over 1,000 online activities to practice grammar and vocabulary skills. Skills are organized by easy, medium and advanced, as well as by browser requirements. The crossword puzzles, bilingual quizzes and other activites are contributed by teachers through The Internet TESL Journal.
Grades: K - 12

American English: Developed by the U.S. Department of State this website is designed to help English learners acquire English language skills and understand American culture. The website provides extensive resources to teachers and learners. Trace Effects is a videogame within this website that was created to help students from grades 6-10 learn English.
Grades: 4 - 10

Colorin Colorado: Subtitles: A bilingual website for families and educators of English language learners. Colorin Colorado contains information, strategies, activities, and resources for teachers who work with English learners. Activities are designed for PreK-3, but many can be adapted for older students. Sponsored by WETA (a public television station) with support from the American Federation of Teachers, National Institute for Literacy and the U.S. Department of Education.
Grades: PreK - 3

Education Place: Provided by textbook publisher, Houghton Mifflin, this website provides online support for their textbook series, as well as lesson plans (for a variety of topics), graphic organizers, handouts and activities for themes, outline maps, and links current event websites for kids.
Grades: K - 8

ELLLO (English Listening Lesson Library Online): Using video and audio recordings, ELLLO helps students learn English. Searchable by level, topic, country and media, most video or audio recordings are accompanied by a transcript. Vocabulary and phrases are defined in writing as well as through audio clips.
Grades: 6 - 12

English Central: Using popular videos this web-based program helps students learn to read, speak and understand English. Requires registration but there are some "courses" that are free of charge, prices range from $3.00 to $44.00 for modules. Earphones and microphones are needed for each student. Uses popular videos
Grades: 3 - 12

Englishclub: Focusing on British English, this website offers ESL learners and teachers links for listening, speaking, reading writing, grammar, writing, vocabulary, and pronunciation. Founded by Josef Essberger, it includes games and quizzes to test students' knowledge in ESL. Students can also participate in ESL forums with teachers, find ESL schools around the world and get exams off the Internet.
Grades: K - 12

ESL Kidstuff: ESL KidStuff is geared toward teachers of younger ESL students. It includes an extensive library of flashcards, worksheets, games, songs, and links to other ESL websites. While some resources may be accessed for free, a Membership fee is required for full access to resources.
Grades: PreK - 5

ESLgo.com: James Trotta designed ESLgo.com for adult students of English as a Second language or foreign language and their teachers. The website has free online English grammar and vocabulary classes. There are also links to forums, speaking activities, an ESL bookstore and more.
Grades: 3 - 12

ESLPDF.com: From the founders of LearnEnglishFeelGood.com. Over 200 free English grammar and vocabulary worksheets. Includes special sections such as phrasal verb training and holidays.
Grades: K - 12

Interesting Things for ESL Students: Word games, puzzles, quizzes, exercises for practicing grammar, reading, pronunciation, slang and proverbs. Authors Charles and Lawrence Kelly also give guidelines for designing your own website for ESL students.
Grades: K - 12

Into the Book: Into the Book provides both a student and teacher website to focus on interactive reading strategies. The videos and online learning activities were developed by the Wisconsin Educational Communications Board with the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction.
Grades: K - 5

LearnEnglishFeelGood: ESL portal with a wide variety of exercises and resources for students and teachers of English. Includes free grammar and vocabulary exercises, worksheets and media-based listening comprehension exercises, lists of idioms and phrasal verbs. Developed by three ESL teachers.
Grades: 3 - 12

Literactive: Literactive provides levelled guided readers, phonic activities and interactive games for pre-school through grade 1. All the material is available for free from this site but registration is required. Includes materials specifically designed for English language learners.
Grades: PreK - 1

Randall's ESL Cyber Listening Lab: Using Real Player or Divace, students can practice their listening skills with a variety of listening quizzes written at different skill levels. Randall S. Davis created these exercises for ESL teachers and students. Pre and post activities provide additional support.
Grades: 3 - 12

Starfall: Designed to teach reading through phonemic awareness, systematic phonics, vocabulary, fluency, and comprehension this free program includes interactive games, stories and other activities. Divided into four levels: ABC's, Learn to read, It's fun to read and I'm reading.
Grades: PreK - 2