Skip to Main Content
Resources
- BBC KS2 Bitesize
- Sponsored by the BBC (British Broadcasting Service) this website includes interactive games to teach reading, writing and spelling and grammar.
Grades: 1 - 6
- Between the Lions Early Reading Collection
- The Between the Lions site from PBS Learning Media provides short videos to help build early literacy skills. Select either Preschool or K-1, then choose a focus area, e.g. Phonemic Awareness. Each video includes Support Materials that include background information and teaching tips.
Grades: PreK - 1
- Children's Storybooks Online
- This web site has original illustrated stories for children from Preschool to High School.(Some stories have audio clips.) Includes links to phonics web sites, riddles, puzzles and coloring book pages.
Grades: PreK - 12
- Colorin Colorado
- Subtitles: A bilingual website for families and educators of English language learners. Colorin Colorado contains information, strategies, activities, and resources for teachers who work with English learners. Activities are designed for PreK-3, but many can be adapted for older students. Sponsored by WETA (a public television station) with support from the American Federation of Teachers, National Institute for Literacy and the U.S. Department of Education.
Grades: PreK - 3
- Education Place
- Provided by textbook publisher, Houghton Mifflin, this website provides online support for their textbook series, as well as lesson plans (for a variety of topics), graphic organizers, handouts and activities for themes, outline maps, and links current event websites for kids.
Grades: K - 8
- FunBrain.com
- Funbrain has more than 100 free educational games, online books, and comics. Created for kids ages preschool through grade 8, encourages the development of math, reading and literacy skills. Funbrain is published by Family Education Network, a part of Pearson
Grades: PreK - 8
- Get Ready to Read!
- Sponsored by the National Center for Learning Disabilities this resource is dedicated to building the literacy skills of preschoolers. It provides resources and information for parents, educators and librarians, including a screening tool to assess a child's early literacy skills. Provides recommendations for early literacy activities. Spanish version available.
Grades: PreK - 2
- Graphic Classroom
- Creator Chris Wilson uses a blog to review graphic novels and make recommendations for their use in the K-12 classroom. If available links to lesson plans are provided. Searchable by keyword, as well as by topics, this blog provides reviews, articles and additional links about graphic novels.
Grades: K - 12
- Houghton Mifflin Education Place
- While primarily created to support the use of Houghton Mifflin textbooks, this web site includes Classroom Resources for Teachers that can be used independently. Resources include monthly themes, bilingual resources, outline maps, graphic organizers, shape-book patterns and a link library.
Grades: PreK - 5
- inklewriter
- Inklewriter enables students to create interactive branched stories ("choose your own adventure"). Created by two game designers this tool is free but does require the user to register. Projects may be shared with a limited or global audience.
Grades: 6 - 12
- Into the Book
- Into the Book provides both a student and teacher website to focus on interactive reading strategies. The videos and online learning activities were developed by the Wisconsin Educational Communications Board with the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction.
Grades: K - 5
- Literactive
- Literactive provides levelled guided readers, phonic activities and interactive games for pre-school through grade 1. All the material is available for free from this site but registration is required. Includes materials specifically designed for English language learners.
Grades: PreK - 1
- NEA--Read Across America
- Read Across America Day, is a national reading celebration that takes place each year on or near March 2, the birthday of Dr. Seuss. This website provides teachers, librarians and parents the ideas, resources, activities, reproducibles, etc. not only for this event but to keep reading kids reading throughout the year. Sponsored by the NEA (National Education Association).
Grades: PreK - 6
- Reading Rockets
- Sponsored by public television station WETA, Reading Rockets is a literacy initiative to help children learn to read, and to help parents, teachers, librarians and other professionals support children in their reading. The website includes research-based strategies, videos and podcasts, information about children's book authors and many additional resources.
Grades: PreK - 5
- Sight Words
- This website is sponsored by the Georgia Preschool Association for teaching Phonemic Awareness to children. The site contains activities, games and tools to help educators and parents prepare children for learning to read. The site also provides a phonological and phonemic awareness curriculum, classroom lessons with "how-to" videos, free printable materials and teaching tips addressing the specific needs of the student.
Grades: PreK - 2
- Starfall
- Designed to teach reading through phonemic awareness, systematic phonics, vocabulary, fluency, and comprehension this free program includes interactive games, stories and other activities. Divided into four levels: ABC's, Learn to read, It's fun to read and I'm reading.
Grades: PreK - 2
- Teachers Guide Series
- From the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences comes this collection of teachers' guides that are designed to promote critical thinking, creative writing, and visual literacy through the study of film. Guides focus on many film related topics such as animation, costume design, and visual effects.
Grades: 6 - 12
- Web English Teacher
- An award winning collection of Language Arts lesson plans and teaching ideas primarily for grades 6-12, but also includes K-5. Includes links to resources about authors and poets, and playwrights, as well as information about book reports, grammar, media and information literacy, vocabulary and writing. Maintained by English teacher, Carla Beard.
Grades: K - 12
