LibGuides: COMM2240 International Media: Country Information, News Articles, Industry Reports

Cheng Library News Sources

NY Times
Use the link above to access the NY Times.You can browse a specific date or search for a topic.

ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to newspapers and other news media from the United States, Canada, Africa, Asia, Oceania, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East. Important titles include the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Wall Street Journal, The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications, plus many other major news publications.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) is a major source of news, legal, and business information, containing over 15,000 full-text publications. The database provides current local, regional, national and international newspapers, broadcast media transcripts, newswires, and blogs.

Locating Country Information-Reliable Websites

BBC Country Profiles
Profiles include the history, politics and economic background of countries and territories.
CIA World Factbook - Country information
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
World Countries List - Nations Online
The links in the list of countries of the world lead to the corresponding country profiles.
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices
Annual publication from the U.S. State Department includes a section on Freedom of Speech and Press for each country.
Cheng Library Ebooks
If you are looking for an ebook on a particular country, check out the link to learn how to search for a Cheng Library ebook!

Search Tip: Keywords

It is usually a good idea to start out broadly, so using just one or two of your topic terms is a good way to begin. Once you have a set of results, you can begin narrowing down your results by entering one or more terms. Searching in a specific field such as "Subject" or "Title" will narrow or focus your results.

Locating Country and Statistical Information

Accessible from the Library homepage, the Statista database is a portal to statistical information that includes country information, pulling together data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single platform. Search for a country to view a variety of statistics.

Cheng Library Industry Reports

D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
This database contains detailed proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives, with additional information about 90 million companies worldwide. This can be used to locate a SWOT analysis for a company.
IBISWorld - U.S. Industry Reports and iExpert Industry Summaries This link opens in a new window
A specialist in industry information, IBISWorld provides research and analysis of over 700 U.S. industries and almost 4,000 product segments. Its reports are written at the 5-digit level of the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) and they can be searched or browsed within the database according to NAICS code. The reports, updated regularly, provide detailed and comprehensive industry overviews, p