LibGuides: HON1000: Role of Non-Point Source Pollution of Lake Eutrophication: Databases

Search Tips

Never put in your entire research question when you search
Break up your search into keywords
Write down several different possibilities for searching
You will need to search different terms and combinations - there is no such thing as a perfect search

Environmental Science Research Databases

The library has a large number of research databases, but it's important to know which one will work best for your needs.

Not all databases contain journal articles, and some are more appropriate for this course than others.

For a full list of Library databases related to Environmental Science, check out our Databases page.

Below are a few recommended databases to begin your research:

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Environmental studies and ecology database contains citations and abstracts for articles from over 265 academic journals, with additional references to books, essays, industry profiles, magazine and trade publication articles, market research reports, and pamphlets.
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, and endocrinology neuroscience. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, the database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. [ 1947 - Present ]
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to over 2,400 full-text journals in the sciences and social sciences.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a comprehensive database providing access to the research literature of the natural and physical sciences and the social sciences. The database currently provides over 50 million citation records and indexes over 20,000 peer-reviewed journals, over 390 trade publications, and over 370 book series. Also included are citations for over 5.5 million conference papers from proceedings and journals, over 25 million patent records from five patent offices, and articles in press from over 3,800 journals. [1823 - Present]

Remember: You can access the databases from off campus using your WPUNJ username and password!

Credo Reference

Credo Reference's Academic Core This link opens in a new window The Credo Reference database is a portal to over 1,300 full-text reference titles from over 120 major publishers. Easy to search and browse, the Credo platform provides access to text, images, maps, statistics, and graphic concept maps to illustrate connections among and between topics. The titles, which range across subjects in art, biography, business, geography, history language, law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, the social sciences, and technology, are fully integrated through the Credo search platform, and the Credo database also provides numerous points for accessing other Cheng Library resources. Credo is a most useful starting point for general research on almost any topic.

When learning about a new topic it helps to do a little preliminary reading to find out

What you already know
What you DON'T know
What's already been researched
What terminology is used
Who are the important people in this area

Credo Reference is an online collection of reference sources that can provide a starting point for learning about these things.

What About Google Scholar?

You'll see Google Scholar on our Databases list, but be cautious of starting your research here.

Like the full Google search, it will often give you more results than you need and some may be off topic.

This is a great place to go if you have a solid research question or thesis statement, and if you've exhausted our other Databases already.

Google Scholar (Full Text @ Cheng Library) This link opens in a new window
Access full-text articles from the Library's subscription e-journals using the familiar Google search engine.

For access to our subscription journals through Google Scholar, select the link above and then follow these steps:

1. Click on the top-left corner menu on the screen

2. Select "Settings" from the menu

3. On the next page, select "Library links" from the menu on the left side of the screen

4. Type "cheng" in the search field and run the search

5. Select "David and Lorraine Cheng Library - Full Text@Cheng Library" and then click on the "Save" button

This will enable you to see the "Full Text@Cheng Library" links displayed with your search results.