Skip to main content

Music Biographical Research: Articles & Databases

Oh No!

My article isn’t available in full-text!

Sometimes, when searching a database, you will only get a short summary of each article (the abstract); not the full-text. 

Click the “Check Here For Full-Text” link on the page to find out whether one of our other databases has it, or if we have another format for this information (print, microfilm, microfiche, etc.).

In most cases, we can easily get a copy of the article... for free!

(see Getting Resources for more information)

Requesting Articles With Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan

If we don't have what you need, you may want to consider requesting items through Interlibrary Loan.  This service is free of charge to WPU students and is a quick and easy way to get hard to find books and articles for your research.

Can't wait? Use WorldCat to find other, nearby libraries with the item.  Check with Lending Services to find out if we have reciprocal borrowing with that library, or simply stop by to make copies.

Using Databases to Find Research Articles

Where to find Articles?

We have a number of general discipline databases (for interdisciplinary topics), as well as a number of Music-specific databases to choose from.  Most offer full-text access to articles online, and can be used from off campus.

You can see a complete list of the databases that the Library subscribes to with the Databases tab on our homepage, or by going directly to the Databases page.

Because jazz is a living and evolving art form, you are likely to find resources in scholarly journals, popular and trade magazines, newspapers, and even online.  Use a combination of searches to locate those resources that match the scope of your research. 

Databases for all M.M. or Music M.B.A. Students

The following databases will be of use to all M.M. and Music M.B.A. students.  A number provide general information about many topics, but have some focus in Music, Music Education or the Music Industry.  Others cover only music and music-related topics.

Full-text is available in some of the following links, although others are considered 'indexes' and may provide only basic information on an article (title, author, publication, etc.).  These can be great resources, as well, showing you articles and research that may not be available in full-text. 

A full list of Library Databases can be found on the Library homepage.

Other library 'databases' include overview works (like online encyclopedias), catalogs and research tools are listed in the next section (below).

The following resources are overview sources, providing concise information on a variety of topics, but are not generally appropriate for scholarly research.

Many of our databases can be used to search for articles (although they may also contain other formats), the following are used to locate theses and dissertations:

There are also two databases of streaming audio recordings:

Found a Citation?

Citation Tracking

If you find an article in the references of another source, use the Journals A-Z tab on the Library website to search for the journal name (not the name of the article).  If we have the journal, you may be able to get the full-text without any other effort!  Otherwise, it's a fast and easy process to request a copy through Interlibrary Loan!

If the article is only available in a WPUNJ format (WPUNJ Print, WPUNJ Microfilm, or WPUNJ Microfiche), complete an Article Request Form to have us digitize it for you!.

The Music Index

Music Index

The Music Index is what we used to find music literature before online databases, and is a print Subject-Author guide.  

The library owns copies of the Music Index from 1949-1996, which is about the time that most of our databsaes start indexing articles.

Each volume contains the articles written during that year, and can be searched by title, author/composer/band, or subject.

Remember, if you're researching an older topic, this is a resource that you shouldn't miss!  

Be sure to conduct searches in as many volumes as is necessary to cover your topic.

Google Scholar

What About Google?

Why not start with Google or Google Scholar?  Well, as you may have learned in your library session, a systematic approach to research is often the most fruitful.  Starting with authoritative databases can ensure that you find the best, most reliable sources first, to form the foundation of your research.

After that, you'll have a strong understanding of the research, terminology used, and a solid search strategy to take with you to Google Scholar!