LibGuides: POL 2210 State Government: Political Advocacy Research & Scholarly Organizations & Resources

Creating Personal Folders in Databases

Many, if not all, of the library databases allow you to create accounts within the database to store your articles and searches for future reference.

When completing a search, you will often see options such as "Mark" or "Add to Folder" . If you decide to use this feature you will need to create an account in the database. The good news is that once you create an account in an EBSCO database such as PsycInfo, you can add items from any of their databases using the same username and password. The same holds true for the ProQuest databases.

Saving your citations/articles within the database also allows you to export them into a Citation Management Tool all at the same time.

Political Advocacy, Research & Scholarly Organizations

American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)
The ACLU functions as a non-profit, non-partisan "advocate of individual rights - litigating, legislating, and educating the public on a broad array of issues affecting individual freedom in the United States." Its mission is "to assure that the Bill of Rights -- amendments to the Constitution that guard against unwarranted governmental control -- are preserved for each new generation."
American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO)
The AFL-CIO is a federation of 68 American unions in the private and public sector, representing more than 13 million working women and men nationwide. The federation and its member unions are politically active, and the site includes information about current legislative and policy priorities.
American Political Science Association
The largest U.S. professional association for scholars and students of politics and the publisher of the American Political Science Review, the APSA claims more than 13,500 members in over 70 countries. This site includes useful information about the organization and its activities, including a directory of the electronic discussion lists it has organized.
The Cato Institute
'A nonprofit public policy research institute founded in 1977, the Cato Institute has seen its influence and reputation grow to such an extent that it is now regarded as a source of some of the most innovative ideas originating from any policy think tank. ...
more...less...
... Taking its name from Cato's Letters, "a series of libertarian pamphlets that helped lay the philosophical foundations for the American Revolution," Cato states that its mission "is to increase the understanding of public policies based on the principles of limited government, free markets, individual liberty, and peace." To that end, it maintains a robust publishing operation, releasing a number of important books each year as well as numerous briefing papers and studies. It publishes several scholarly journals and sponsors numerous conferences and book and policy forums in addition to maintaining a content-rich Web site.' [Choice]
Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP)
Research, education and public service center based at Rutgers University's Eagleton Institute of Politics. CAWP's mission is "to promote greater understanding and knowledge about women's participation in politics and government and to enhance women's influence and leadership in public life." Resources at the site include online fact sheets, publications, and news.
Feminist Majority Foundation (FMF)
Research and advocacy organization "committed to empowering women and winning equality through research, the sharing of information of value to feminists everywhere, and effective action." FMF's web site includes current news and information on the variety of national and global issues in which the organization is active.
Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies
Founded in 1970, the Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies is a national, nonprofit institution that conducts research on public policy issues of special concern to black Americans and other minorities. The site includes a discussion of "hot topics," statistical data, and the full text of selected reports produced since 1995.
Low Income Networking and Communications Project (LINC)
This site, a project of the Welfare Law Center, functions as a gateway to numerous organizations working with low-income groups in a numer of anti-poverty initiatives. Housing, hunger, homelessness, and economic justice are some of the issues these organizations address.
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)
Founded in 1909, the NAACP has been active in the major civil rights campaigns of the last century. Its "principal objective is to ensure the political, educational, social and economic equality of minority group citizens of United States and eliminate race prejudice."
National Organization for Women (NOW)
Founded in 1966, NOW "is dedicated to making legal, political, social and economic change in our society" in order to achieve its goal, "which is to eliminate sexism and end all oppression." NOW's web site provides a good overview of the many political campaigns in which it is active. Also see NOW's Legal Defense and Education Fund for additional information.
Policy Library
The aim of the non-profit, non-partisan Policy Library is to place public policy knowledge in the public domain. This site supports that goal by providing access to a database of online policy and research papers - which aims to be progressively comprehensive in its coverage - from British think tanks to think tanks in English speaking world, to policy papers from universities and government research, to foreign language research papers.

Subject Guide

Gary Marks

Email Me

Contact:

Library 107c

973-720-2290

Subjects: Criminal Justice, Geography, Law and Legal Studies, Political Science, Sociology, Urban Studies