LibGuides: CIED2200: Globalization and Education: Finding Information about Education in other Countries

Search Books & Media

Search the Cheng Library online catalog for books and media. If you need journal articles, go to our Databases page.

Effects of Globalization on Education Systems and Development by MacLeans A. Geo-JaJa & Suzanne Majhanovich (Eds.)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9789463007276
Publication Date: 2016
The Finland phenomenon inside the world's most surprising school system.
Call Number: Lending Services DVD 2334
Dr. Tony Wagner discusses the reasons for Finland's top performing students by
examining the educational system through interviews with students, teachers, and administrators as well as classroom visits.
Global School by William Kist
Call Number: Second Floor LC1090 .K53 2013
ISBN: 9781935543701
Publication Date: 2012
Leveraging Educational Quality in Southern African Educational Systems: A Practitioners' Perspective by Munyaradzi Mawere (Editor); Patient Rambe (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9789956790876
Publication Date: 2013

By phone

Call 973-720-2116

The Reference Desk is staffed until 10PM Sunday-Friday and until 8:00pm on Saturday.

By e-mail

Send your question to the Reference Desk via email - refdesk@wpunj.edu Allow 24 hours for a response.

Schedule a Research Appointment

Contact the library for an appointment with a Reference Librarian: Schedule Research Help

If you are looking for information about education in a specific country, try one of these sources:

Europa World Year Book
Call Number: Reference JN1 .E85 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Three volume directory that includes geographic, historical, economic and statistical information about individual countries.
Statesman's Yearbook
Call Number: [Reference] JA51 .S7 2018
ISBN: 00814601
Annual print directory with information about many foreign countries. Education is listed under Social Institutions.

Country Studies
Originally published as books these reports were prepared by the Library of Congress between 1988 and 2008. While they provide overviews of over 100 countries some information is dated.
US Bilateral Relations Fact Sheet.
The US Department of State provides this background information about each country focusing on its relationship with the United States.
World Data on Education 2010-11
Issued by UNESCO this provides a detailed report on the educational system in each country. The reports are published in either English, French or Spanish.
World Factbook
Current snapshot of over 250 countries prepared by the CIA. Includes extensive statistical information.

Use one or more of these encyclopedias from the Cheng Library's collection.

International Encyclopedia of Education
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781780343297
Publication Date: 2010
Looks at education from an international perspective. Covers topics from early childhood education to adult education; research; curriculum development; and national systems of education.
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Education by Gary McCulloch, & David Crook, Eds.
Call Number: [Reference] LB15 .R633 2008
ISBN: 9780415277471
One volume encyclopedia with short articles about education around the world. No articles on many smaller countries.