LibGuides: POL3290: Women and the Law in the US: Secondary Legal Resources

Research Centers and Government Entities

Government offices and departments, as well as advocacy, research, and non profit groups provide useful resources, reports, and data related to their specific area's of focus.

Department of Justice Office on Violence Against Women
ACLU Women's Rights in the Workplace
US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
Office on Women's Health (OWH)
The OWH is a part of the US Dept of Health and Human Services. the Working Groups and committees coordinate efforts for several areas of women's health issues in the US.
National Archives of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)
Source for Data on Crime and Justice since 1978.

Additional Related Resources

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Bibliographic database contains over 450,000 citations and abstracts for journal and magazine articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering the world's scholarly literature about the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes material from over 1,820 journals and magazines written in over 40 languages, although the majority of items were published in English. Most of the items in the database were issued after 1954. Many records contain links to full-text articles in other Library databases. [1954 - present]
Credo Reference's Academic Core This link opens in a new window The Credo Reference database is a portal to over 1,300 full-text reference titles from over 120 major publishers. Easy to search and browse, the Credo platform provides access to text, images, maps, statistics, and graphic concept maps to illustrate connections among and between topics. The titles, which range across subjects in art, biography, business, geography, history language, law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, the social sciences, and technology, are fully integrated through the Credo search platform, and the Credo database also provides numerous points for accessing other Cheng Library resources. Credo is a most useful starting point for general research on almost any topic.
ERIC (via Institute of Education Sciences) This link opens in a new window The public version of the ERIC database, hosted by the Institute of Education Sciences IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, provides access to the citation records of the ERIC database plus all available ERIC documents. This version of the search interface also includes links to publication pages for IES reports, IES funding information, and "What Works" clearinghouse study review pages, plus standardized identifiers for locations, assessments and surveys, and laws for easier refinement of search results. A peer-reviewed flag has also been added to qualified grey literature. [1966 - present]
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window This bibliographic database provides citations and abstracts for materials in all areas of women's studies. It includes more than 958,800 records and spans from 1972 to the present and indexes journals, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, reports, theses, dissertations and grey literature.

Have a Question? Contact a Librarian:

By phone

Call 973-720-2116

The Reference Desk is staffed until 10PM Sunday-Thursday, 5pm on Friday, and until 4:00pm on Saturday. You can also Chat with a Librarian using the box at the right.

By e-mail

Send your question to the Reference Desk via email - refdesk@wpunj.edu Allow 24 hours for a response.

Schedule a Research Appointment

Contact the library for an appointment with a Reference Librarian: Schedule Research Help

Secondary Source Databases

Secondary sources can include law reviews, academic journal publications, books, and even news sources. The databases below can provide a number of relevant secondary resources related to topics covered in your course.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
The legal section offers federal and state statutes, administrative codes, court opinions, briefs, pleadings and motions, administrative materials, law reviews and legal news
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Researchers and teachers may access more than 219,000 full articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace. [1970 - Present]
Legal Information Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-text access to over 250 consumer legal reference books
Ebrary's Academic Complete is now ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 150,000 electronic books from a wide variety of academic publishers, covering every subject.

[Ebook Central Overview and Searching (Video 2:37)] [Quick Start Guide (2 pages)]
e-book
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts, which includes the companion file Social Services Abstracts, covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers. [ 1952 - Present ]