Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST2600: Historical Methods (U.S. Long Nineteenth Century Focus): Government Documents

Government Documents

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation consists of a linked set of published congressional records of the United States of America from the Continental Congress through the 43rd Congress, 1774-1875. It includes the Journals of the Continental Congress (1774-89); the Letters of Delegates to Congress (1774-89); the Records of the Federal Convention of 1787, or Farrand's Records, and the Debates in the Several State Conventions on the Adoption of the Federal Constitution (1787-88), or Elliot's Debates; the Journals of the House of Representatives (1789-1875) and the Senate (1789-1875), including the Senate Executive Journal (1789-1875); the Journal of William Maclay (1789-91), senator from Pennsylvania in the 1st Congress; the debates of Congress as published in the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), the Register of Debates (1824-37), Congressional Globe (1833-73), and Congressional Record (1873-75); the Statutes at Large (1789-1875); the American State Papers (1789-1838); and congressional bills and resolutions for selected sessions beginning with the 6th Congress (1799) in the House of Representatives and the 16th Congress (1819) in the Senate. A select number of documents and reports from the monumental U.S. Congressional Serial Set are available as well.
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lawhome.html


United States Government Documents on Women, 1800-1990: A Comprehensive Bibliography / Mary Ellen Huls. - Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1993. - 2 v. ; 23 cm; Includes bibliographical references and indexes.; v. 1. Social issues -- v. 2 Labor. - Call Number: REF Z7964.U49H85
These two volumes list some 7,000 government publications on women, both those that are factual and those that present governmment policies and perceptions. Executive and congressional publications predominate; technical reports, ERIC studies, article reprints, and federal court cases are excluded. Volume 1 treats social issues in 21 chapters, volume 2 treats labor in 20; some publications on labor appear in volume 1 as well. Topics range from general issues to politics, education, health, and family. Each chapter begins with a brief historical essay defining the issue and highlighting significant publications. The entries themselves, in chronological order in each chapter, include a complete citation (including corporate or personal author, Superintendent of Documents number or Serial Set number) and a brief abstract. [Choice]


Using Government Information Sources: Electronic and Print, Third Edition / by Jean L. Sears and Marilyn K. Moody. - Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press, 2001. - 536 p. : ill.; 29 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF J83.S43
This very useful guide to using government information covers subject areas, agencies, statistical sources, and special techniques for such tasks as constructing legislative histories and analyzing budgets. A large number of official government Web sites, some unofficial sites, and online commercial tools are included, with Web page title, URL, and sample screen shots of typical pages. [Choice]


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website